Forerunner 405: The Future Is Here

Let me introduce you to the new love of my life:

Garmin-Forerunner-405-Black-A

I had a pretty hard time justifying the expense of a Garmin, and I did like the idea of “judging my own pace” like a “real runner.” But then, REI had a huge sale, Garmin offered a $50 rebate, and I turned 27. And what better way to celebrate my entree into my late 20s by dropping some coin on a running gadget? (I also dropped some coin on my brakes and trips to Atlanta and Chicago last month, so I can’t say the sale was perfect timing.)

Anyway, as I hinted before, I’m in love. And I haven’t even uploaded anything yet! There’s just something about knowing exactly how fast my heart is beating at any given time that really gets me going. Yes, I have been known to wear the heart rate monitor at my desk.

I still haven’t totally figured out the pace thing. I have a hard time believing I really fluctuate from 11 minute miles to 8:30s in the span of 10 seconds. But this morning, just knowing that I ran for 4.45 miles and burned 485 calories told me we’re going to get along just fine. Chicago, here I come!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on May 16, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    “Sorry, Wes. It’s not you, it’s my endless need to know how fast my heart is beating and how many calories I’ve burned at any given moment.”

    Reply

  2. […] downhills. But it was crowded when I was there, so I used appropriate caution. And according to my boyfriend, Garmin, I still averaged about 13mph. In other words, riding leisurely and responsibly, I was still […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

