All in the Family

I’ve been reading the athlete’s note for Steelman over and over in case I can do the race on Sunday. I’m still limping pretty badly, but I made a chiro appointment for Wednesday. Sunday is 15 days after my accident, so fingers crossed.

I sent the note to my parents, and my dad tells me that I’m related to some of the other race participants. (Well, I knew about Katie.) My dad’s cousin Rick–who was in Afghanistan last year and wanted to have a family reunion only to have his tour extended and miss said reunion–is doing the race. Now I wouldn’t know Rick if he came over and slapped me, but my dad and my aunts were planning to come watch, and they should know who he is. So Rick will get a little mini reunion after all, and at this one there should be food I can eat!*

In somewhat related news, I got both my wheels trued today (the accident knocked them both out). Big ups to my boyfriend Zach at Wheel Nuts for hooking me up and teaching me how to true the wheels myself. So hopefully next time I don’t have to shell out $40.

*The website promises m&ms. At last year’s family reunion I paid $10 for some french fries and a piece of cake. Everything else had meat in it. Oh, but the fruit tray didn’t have any meat, but it did have mango. So that was cool.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on August 4, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    THAT is who this cousin is?? I’ll be sure to tell him the cake at the reunion was delicious.

    Also, apparently Bonnie wants to hang out with me. Her exact words were, “Well, I mean, I met Elizabeth, and that was fine. But I really want to meet Katie!”

    Reply

  2. Posted by lizard151 on August 4, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I’m going to text Bonnie and tell her you’ve been overhyped.

    Reply

  3. […] I found my dad’s cousin! He was resting on the kayak I went to for help and either miraculously recognized me or thought […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

