Prognosis + My Wild Night on the Metro Post-Nats Game

Wait! Don’t go! I can’t believe I had three visitors today, but no post up for them. I’m sorry, guys! Come back!

I have a really good excuse. Last night I went to see the Nationals pull off an awesome, come-from-behind win (and Teddy Roosevelt in a sling after his run-in with a rogue pierogi). On the way home I battled the Metro crowds for some space on one train only to have to transfer to another, even more crowded train. Luckily I ran into a friend who wasn’t afraid to pull the crutch card to get me on the jam-packed train. And then some more people smushed on, almost starting a fight. Great fun all around.

This morning I got up and went to the chiropractor, or as I now like to call him, Dr. Buzz Kill. He said I “bruised the hell out of my leg” and no triathlon this weekend. Now, I’m not 100% giving up hope, seeing as I have been cleared to swim and bike. Like I keep saying, if I can walk without a limp, I can do a triathlon. Of course falling off my bike would probably be catastrophic (unless I landed on my right side!), but seeing as how I’m still walking like a T-Rex, I don’t know how realistic I’m being.

I am going to go out and buy a cane tonight so I can get rid of these damn crutches, though. I’ll admit that I was hesitant to get a cane at first because, well, I feel like that looks so much more permanent than crutches, but at the end of the day I’m a practical person, and it makes a lot more sense for me to graduate to a cane. Plus, now I’ll be able to scratch my face and walk at the same time. It’s the little things.

P.S. My boss thinks it’s funny that I only have time to blog since being injured. Yes, hilarious.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on August 5, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    I can’t wait to see your cane. Be sure to shake it at some whippersnappers!

    Reply

  2. Posted by youngrunner on August 6, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I visit you in my google reader, but it doesn’t let me comment from it… 🙂 You can rest assured, I’m always 1 of your visitors! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

