Nola 5k: Don’t Call It a Comeback

So last Saturday I ran the New Orleans Rebirth 5k in Old Town. It was an excellent race because:

1) I could ride my bike there. It was down in Oronoco Bay park, which is only about 1.25 miles from my house. I know this because I run there all the time. And if I hadn’t been coming off an injury, I probably would have run there as a warm up.

2) Perfect. Weather. Last weekend was out of control gorgeous around here. It was pure sunshine, a gentle breeze, and low 70s with no humidity.

3) The money went to a really good cause. New Orleans is still a shambles, people, and it’s important to recognize and remember that–and to do something about it. If all you’re going to do is run a race, then this is a good one to do. Obviously.

4) A friend was running it, so we met all his friends and through them discovered that Vaso’s Kitchen serves breakfast! Breakfast is my A#1 favorite meal of the day, and I live right around the corner from Vaso’s, so this is important, useful information that will be stored away and recalled often.

What about the race itself? Well-run, as Pacers stuff often, though not always, is (*cough* course measurement *cough*). But there were no problems today. As I mentioned, the race started at Oronoco Bay Park in Old Town and the continued along Union Street until we ran up a killer hill just before the 1 mile. I actually run this exact loop weekly, so that was nice. I just wish I’d had some recent practice going up that hill. We then doubled back down Union Street and came up and around the park to finish on the trail.

I was surprised with how well I did. I came in at 25:57, which is obviously pretty far off my PR, but not too bad considering everything. And I think it was my lungs holding me back, not my legs, which is pretty exciting. Next up is Clarendon Day on Saturday morning. I’ll be doing the 10k and just trying to finish. Then Sunday I’ll round out my 12-mile week with another 3 or so miles (yeah, I ran out of time to run today after I slept through my usual morning run).

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on September 27, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    You say “12-mile weeks” like it’s a bad thing.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lizard151 on September 29, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    It ended up being more like 11.5. I was more sore than you were on Sunday.

    Reply

  3. […] after that. I DNF’d my first triathlon, a race I should never have started. And I just kept signing up for more races, trying to force my body into recovery. It kind of worked. I got some races in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

