Christmas in October

Or as you might call it, the Marine Corps Marathon. I love everything about this race except actually competing in it. Over the last four years I have run 11 miles with my sister, run 20 miles with a friend, run my PR of 3:45:31, and run 6 miles with a friend. The only time I didn’t have a total blast was when I ran it myself. Marathons are hard.

Marine Corps is DC running at its best. Everyone comes out and cheers on their friends, and I never fail to see several people that I know. It’s just all sunshine and positive energy and gorgeous scenery and fun.

This year I dragged my friend from high school out for the ride. She came and ran the 5k with me on Saturday (and set a 1+ minute PR), so we got up at 6:30 to head into Rosslyn. We watched runners pass the first mile before heading into Georgetown to catch the elites. Then we met up with Katie and went to mile 9 to try to see some friends. We only managed to see one before my friend and I had to haul ass to make it to the 14th Street bridge in time to catch another running friend. I picked her up at mile 20 and ran her in. And let me tell you, starting a marathon at the 20-mile mark is really the way to go.

At the end we met up with Wes and the rest of our running friends and got some burritos. Delicious day all around.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on October 30, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Correction: I got fish tacos. They were the second-best thing I’d ever eaten. #1 is that bagel after I hadn’t eaten all night during the Ragnar Relay.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on November 1, 2009 at 7:59 pm

      The most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted is the Gatorade I sipped at mile 21 of my first marathon. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

