2009 in Review: Injuries, Injuries, Injuries

Fuck you, 2009

2009 was not a good year for me. I managed to hurt the same leg three separate times, which ensured that I spent much of the year stuck on the couch. I didn’t PR once. I barely worked out. Every time I started to get back into it, I hurt myself again.

I finally succumbed to piriformis syndrome in March 2009, after running with it for about a year and a half. (In 2008 I PRed every distance, so it wasn’t all for naught.) During the National Marathon, my left hip just wasn’t firing at all. I ended up running 1:51:18 on a course that I’d run 1:48:02 on the year before, despite the fact that I’d just run a sub-47-minute 10k in December 2008 and hadn’t slacked off at all. So I knew something was wrong.

When you’re piriformis is a f-ed up as mine was, you’re pretty much down for the count. I couldn’t run; I couldn’t bike, even though that’s how I got to work; I couldn’t use the elliptical or the rowing machine. I could swim, but I didn’t have easy or free access to a pool. So I lifted my upper body and blew that up and worked with a therapist and a chiropractor to get the strength and range of motion back into my leg.

I got back in the swing, did a race in late April (26-something 5k), started training again and … flipped off my bike in July. I missed my triathlon. After about two weeks of not walking and another two months of not running, I was kind of ready to run again. By then I missed my marathon, but after going to watch it, I got the inspiration to start training again. And so I did.

And so you read. I was doing pretty good–until two days after the Tucson Half when my left calf decided it wanted to ensure that I wouldn’t finish the year in any kind of running shape. It’s strained, and 14 days after it happened, I’m still limping. I’m going to see Dr. Paul tomorrow and hope he can finally mash the toxins out.

What does this mean for the Carlsbad Half at the end of January? Who knows. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed and my leg foam-rolled and hoping that 2010 is going to be a running year (and a gym year) again.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jessica on January 10, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    Yep – my piriformis is suddenly dehabilitating for me too! Thanks for the information about your doctor. I think I am definitely going to have to pay him a visit.

    Reply

  2. […] time I couldn’t run for 3 weeks. And, oh, I see I’ve already written this post once. 2009 sucked, but I wasn’t done being […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

