Rodale Knows I’m a Sucker

I suspect there’s a special file in the Rodale marketing offices with my name on it. Inside, there’s a post-it note that says something to the effect of “This idiot will buy anything.” Actually, the file might be in my sister’s name–I stole her Runner’s World subscription a few years ago. I’ve never been able to get one myself–they never sent me one that I ordered, and then they never sent me the free one that came with my MCM entry, but I digress.

Look closely--I have a Rodale book on display on my coffee table.

I should mention that the only thing I love more than running is reading. So when the two combine–I super geek out. My heart beats a little faster, my one-click ordering finger itches, and I lose all impulse control.

I renew RW without fail; I bought a bunch of running books because they sent me an email. I didn’t fall for Eat This, Not That, but then I saw Cook This, Not That and almost caved. If Rodale HQ wasn’t 30 minutes from where I grew up, I would be applying for every job that ever came open on any of their

publications. As it is, I still feel like I can only resist for so long. Look at their workout facilities! Maybe I can be based in NYC or Chicago!

Anyway, I’m a sucker for a magazine, and I’m a real sucker for “Just a dollar an issue!” So Bicycling…to order or not to order?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jessica on January 10, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    That’s one pretty coffee table! I vote for joining a gym which carries Bicycling magazine, then you can just read it while you bike!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 10, 2010 at 10:54 pm

      You’re brilliant. I already belong to Results, so fingers crossed they have it! (And if they don’t, I’ll put this email in their suggestion box.)

      Reply

  2. we actually got Bicycling one year by mistake, thru some discount mag house when DH tried to renew his SI. Is say stick with the copy at the gym as well.

    Reply

  3. […] Posted by lizard151 in Consumerism. Tagged: I Can Read, Rodale, Runner's World, The Runner's Rule Book. Leave a Comment What else can you do when there’s 3 feet of snow on the ground? This recommendation might be coming a little late–I’m putting even odds on going back to work tomorrow–but that doesn’t make it any less enthusiastic. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

