I Love the Run!

Is there a more effective marketing tool than monkeys?

LOOK at this ad. F-ing look at it!

I know, right?

Pacers, if you’re listening, please please, 1000 times please, make this the race shirt.*

Is there anything better than a monkey? Well, if you’ve looked at this picture, you know that the answer to that question is hell yes. Obviously two monkeys in love and running are cuter than just one plain old monkey. I don’t even care that this ad is totally heteronormative. I just want to be the girl monkey wearing a little red bow and frolicking along with my boy monkey and squeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

All I wanna do now is register for this race and wear the t-shirt every day for the rest of my life. You’ll notice I’ve added it to my 2010 race schedule, which I’ve just posted to the right.

I’m thinking about buying VIP entries to all Pacers races, but I haven’t pulled the trigger–and now I see that they moved the Running Festival to the morning after my cousin’s Pennsylvania wedding, so I have some math to do.

Plus I really want to do the Lehigh Valley Half Marathon because all the post-race food is vegetarian, but that’s now been moved to the same day as the GW Parkway 10 Miler. I can ride my bike to the GW Parkway race, but vegetarian food… grrrrr to race directors who change their dates!

Well, if there’s any constant in this ever-changing world of races, it is this: Those monkeys up there are so cute I want to die.

*Seriously, Pacers, if you put some lame Steve Prefontaine logo on my t-shirt when it could have been monkeys, I might never forgive you.

What do you guys think? Monkeys or Pre? Which races are on your 2010 schedule?

24 responses to this post.

  1. I know! The packet they sent us home was great! I’m just as excited for the 4 courts 4 miler, even if it does mean a back to back race for me. Also, I saw the Independence5000 site is pretty much up and that looks sweet too! I just really, really hope we stay local for that one! Anyway, right now Love the Run is my next one too and I’d love a monkey shirt and as we discussed, I bought the VIP series.

    Reply

  2. Last year’s LV Half Marathon date was an exception do to the Holiday Inn double booking the race with a convention of the PTA so the race was moved to a later date. Jamie McKeon does put on a mean vegetarian spread and the event itself is certainly worth being a part of. Sorry you will miss out this year. If you do change your mind however the event is nearly sold out but there is still time.—JOhn

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 12, 2010 at 8:35 am

      John, thanks so much for the info. Not sure if you remember me, but we ran together a few years ago when I was visiting my parents. I used to work at Laneco with Ellen. I thought I remembered the race being in late April instead of May. I’d be more likely to make it up there if I didn’t have to go back to the LV for a wedding two weeks later, but the Half Marathon is on my must-do list.

      Reply

  3. Posted by itsnotlucky on January 12, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Those monkeys are persuasive, and would make for an AMAZING race shirt. I think I’m going to NY for President’s Day, so you’ll have to report back on the shirts.

    Reply

  4. That is super cute!! I love the monkeys 🙂

    Reply

  5. I am totally loving those monkeys! As for races, I think I’m set on marathons, the rest I’ll fill in as I go.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm

      I see you’re planning Chicago again! I’m leaning heavily toward it myself. I registered last year, but got hurt and couldn’t do it, but I loved the city and need an excuse to go back 🙂

      Reply

  6. Liz-
    Love the enthusiasm. Made my day. I love the monkeys as well.
    Your comments made us rethink our shirt scenario and yes- of course I want my friends the monkeys on my tee! So, we are going to make a few versions of the shirt that people can pick which one they’d prefer . . . first come first serve but I’ll be sure to save you a monkey. You can tell everyone you twisted the race director’s arm and were the catalyst for the choice in tees.
    See you in Feb. -Kathy

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 12, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      Haha, thanks Kathy. What a pleasant surprise–but I don’t think you’ll regret the decision. I’ve had people talking about the monkeys all day, and my co-worker has decided to do the race based on them. See you in February!

      Reply

  7. Whoa, way to get the race t-shirt made to your liking! Just like that, internets getting it done! Nice work. Try not to abuse your cyber power. Gosh, you’re like Perez Hilton, but with a much greater interest in excercising.

    Reply

  8. That’s fantastic!! I could consider running with you just to get that shirt. Its some serious motivation!

    Reply

  9. […] Half Marathon, race. Leave a Comment So apparently, you guys like monkeys. Good news–see the comment from Race Director Kathy Dalby who succumbed to my will earlier […]

    Reply

  10. Where will the monkeys be?

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 13, 2010 at 11:02 am

      Where on the t-shirt? I don’t know. Maybe Kathy will come back and let you know. Are you as in love with the monkeys as all we women are? I guess the design is a little girly–probably why they’ll offer two options. But it is a Valentine’s day themed race…

      Reply

  11. Posted by John K. on January 14, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Screw Lehigh Valley — GWPC ROCKS!

    The scenery, the course, the post-race party (and the Race Director getting engaged during the awards ceremony. OK, that probably won’t happen again). And if you ask Kathy real nice, maybe she’ll save some vegi food for you!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 14, 2010 at 3:55 pm

      Hahaha, you make some good points. And I am still kicking myself for missing the big engagement last year…

      Reply

  12. […] See you all on February 14. I’ll be the one in a monkey shirt. […]

    Reply

  13. Posted by Pam on January 14, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I’ll def be at the Valentines Race, and the Pacer’s 1/2 in May, hamstring willing. Nothing else yet but I’m sure a few other races will sneak in there. And I sooooooo want that monkey on my shirt. Esp since I’m paying $35 for a gd 5k. 🙂

    Reply

  14. […] Do I even have to say it? Monkey […]

    Reply

  15. […] training run. Leave a Comment The moment we’ve been waiting for is almost here. I have my monkey shirt in hand, and I’m ready for a 5k on Sunday. And by ready, I don’t mean well trained or […]

    Reply

  16. […] on Valentine’s Day or Boy Monkey’s birthday weekend, and the fact that now, thanks to my big mouth, I have a Valentine’s Day-themed shirt that I can’t really wear until next year […]

    Reply

  17. […] Tuesday was my biggest viewership day ever. Even bigger than when Pacers retweeted my monkey post. If I had known doing an Olympic tri would catapult me to blogger stardom, I would have done one […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

