So Much to Think About

So apparently, you guys like monkeys. Good news–see the comment from Race Director Kathy Dalby who succumbed to my will earlier today.

Seriously though, while I’m set for Feb. 14, I still have no idea what to do the week of April 24. Because, as I realized, the American Odyssey Relay–excuse me the American Odyssey Relay Run Adventure–is that weekend, too. Now, I have a verbal agreement to run that race, but the same people who are running it also told me they were going to have a party after the GW Parkway 10.

It took me 8 tries to get this screen cap right. Someday I will learn to use a mac.

So I’m confused. But I’m definitely not running a relay AND a long race. Don’t forget the Lehigh Valley Marathon is that weekend, too, and an old acquaintance of mine also left a comment on my last post talking it up.

What to do? What to do?

Here’s a short list of pros and cons.

GW Pro: Very close to home. Con: Crazy hilly (don’t let them fool you!)

American Odyssey Pro: Hello, adventure relay race! Con: I’m not much of a camper/stayer-up-later–in short, I’m terrible at adventures

LV Half Pro: Excellent course, veg food! Con: So far.

What do you guys think? I guess I’m leaning toward the Odyssey (I did like that book). Unless there will definitely be brunch after the GW race. I will do anything for brunch.

I really do.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Well, if I was deciding, I’d do the American Odyssey Relay (Race Adventure!). But, since I’m the AOR race director, I’m probably not very objective. You can have brunch any time after a 10 miler, but the American Odyssey Relay presents so much more! How about pancakes in Shepherdstown at about 4:00 am? Or a big post race festival with food, drinks and music on the DC SW Waterfront? Oh, and the running? The course is beautiful throughout. Covered bridges, Gettysburg and Antietam battlefields, over the Potomac, four states. Okay, have I convinced you yet? If not, send me an email and i’ll keep trying. . . ..

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 14, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Wow, thanks for commenting, Bob. You race directors have your google alerts in line. You had me at pancakes at 4am. That’s my kind of race. In all seriousness, this is the front runner for the weekend. It just hurts so much to have to make that choice!

      Reply

  2. Posted by lizard151 on January 15, 2010 at 10:09 am

    You’ll never go wrong with monkeys. Someone should put that on the race director training packet.
    But I’m so flattered–you guys are both going to sell out without me. It’s awesome to see people doing what they love with so much enthusiasm.

    Reply

  3. […] Although I was promised pancakes at 4am in West Virginia, I was not able to eat them because of my 5am run. That just means I’ll have to do it next year. Safety first. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

