Sexy Socks

So this weekend, I went shopping. My friend gave me a gift certificate for helping her read over her book before it went off to the publisher. And while it was my absolute pleasure to help, it was still nice to use up the gift certificate on some running treats.

But! What to buy? What to buy? I already have two new pairs of running shoes–even though I have since decided that I want to start wearing Lunarglides to run.

Lately, as if my hip, IT band, calf, and achilles problems weren’t enough, my arches have been hurting. I guess it’s been going on for a while, but nothing was helping them (except Lunarglides), so I decided to try some fancy socks.

mmmmmmm cw-x tights and balega socks

I started with Balega X Athlete socks, which have pretty thick cushioning and at least some psychological benefit to my sore arches. I used to be really into thin socks, but that was before I tried the cushioned socks. I love these so far, especially for distance. I wore them out on a run on Sunday, I was so excited to have them.

But while I was there, I also grabbed a pair of Zensah compression socks. I wore them all day Sunday and then went for a run in them on Monday. My arches feel a lot more rested and strong than they usually do, which I’ll take as a good sign.

I’m planning to wear these puppies on the plane on Thursday because my legs always hurt on planes and because I’m paranoid about getting a blood clot and dying. It can happen!

Hey, cheerleader

You might think looking this good is easy, but you'd be wrong.

I’ll probably wear them under jeans though. And please ignore the various exercise and music debris behind me in that picture.

Have you ever used compression socks? What do you think? I’ve heard nothing but raves from the few people I asked, but do they really do anything to justify their $50 price tag? Or is it all psychological? (I just spent $50 on socks–these better make me feel better!)

Your thoughts would be much appreciated.

7 responses to this post.

  1. You are rockin’ that look, girl! LOL! I keep wanting to get some compression socks, but I seem to be spending all my extra money on races these days. Everyone I know who has them, loves them.

    Thanks for the Beautiful Blogger award. I’ll respond to it tomorrow or Thursday (deadline for something else tomorrow so may not have blogging time).

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 20, 2010 at 5:01 pm

      Hahaha thanks! You’re welcome–I look forward to your post, but we can all wait while real life gets in the way 🙂

      Reply

  2. I have a pair of compression socks. I don’t run in them, but I wear them to recover from our track workouts or long runs. They are awesome for recovery! I tried to run in them once and I didn’t care for them running, but yes to recover!

    Have fun in Carlsbad, I wish I was running!

    Reply

  3. I was exactly the same way: first really thin socks were my thing. Until I tried the Balegas. Love em! No experience with compression socks, sorry although everything I’ve heard is good!
    I too am tempted by the Lunar Glides…

    Reply

  4. Posted by itsnotlucky on January 21, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    If Lunar Glides were a person, they’d probably have a restraining order against you.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 21, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      I just tried to buy a pair, but Road Runner Sports.com denied me. I’m not sure why they hate me so much.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

