Races to Run: Carlsbad Half Marathon

What: Carlsbad Marathon and Half Marathon

When: January 24, 2010, Marathon at 6 a.m., Half at 7:30 a.m.

Where: Carlsbad, California, just north of San Diego

Why: “Participants explore the beautiful northern San Diego coastline on a spectacular course designed to highlight the most scenic areas of San Diego County.”

Details: I don’t have many, because I’ve never been before, but if you spend some time on the website, you’ll see what attracted me. Oh yeah, and you get to run along the Pacific coast.

Ooooooh

Here’s a link to a blog with a write up of last year’s race and some more glorious pictures.

The Half Marathon is an out-and-back course that runs almost entirely along the Pacific Ocean. The Marathon

takes an inland detour for miles 6-14.

The race sells out early. I registered back in October, and both races sold out not long after that.

I’ll be reporting live from the race this weekend, but in the meantime, does anyone have any firsthand experience with the race?

I’m just looking forward to getting away from this crappy DC weather.

Scenic

*Future race previews will be far more awesome–they will involve scouting and pictures and all kinds of stuff that I can do to races close to home. Running in California is just going to have to be a leap of faith for me this time.

4 responses to this post.

  1. No experience with that one but the pic is glorious and I hope the weather cooperates! Good luck! and have fun!

    Reply

  2. There is a little rain right now in California. Of course it will skip your race… 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 21, 2010 at 11:04 am

      I heard! I can’t believe it…but I’m putting all my faith in the weather clearing up for Saturday and Sunday at least.

      Reply

  3. […] Good luck Liz (from Lizard Runs) in the Carlsbad Half Marathon […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

