So Carlsbad It’s Good!*

No, I did not run the Carlsbad Half Marathon. And in light of the fact that my chiro told me today that I have to have several more Graston treatments on my RIGHT calf now because the muscles are all messed up there, too, I’m glad. (Note: this means nothing except I have to continue icing, stretching, and rolling my legs for the rest of my life, which I already knew.)

I did however, squeak out 7 very easy miles on a spectacular course on a gorgeous day. Yes, this is going to be a rave, but it probably has more to do with the Southern California scenery and weather than anything else.

I present Exhibits A, B, and C.

That's the Pacific Ocean on the left and runners on the right. (and my shadow)

This is just a house we passed on the course. Nice yard.

The Mighty Pacific: Like a man trying to send back soup.

In short: It’s pretty.

I only ran the first and last 3.5 miles (it’s an out and back course), but I hit some rolling hills–nothing too steep or without a corresponding downhill, but challenging all the same. I wouldn’t call it flat, but the last mile is a fantastic, very fast downhill.

Like all things in San Diego, the expo was outside.

My friend set a PR, so I think we can officially call it a PR course. It’s crowded: There are about 8,500 half marathoners and 1,500 marathoners. The marathoners started an hour and a half before we did, but I heard there is a bit of a clusterf*** at the end. But it’s well managed. The crowd had started to break up by the time I turned around at mile 3.5.

It takes almost 3 miles to reach the ocean, but it’s a very scenic journey to get there. Crowd support was decent, and in my 3 miles I passed 3 or 4 water stations, which is great, but the cups were very small, which is not. It meant that it was easy to drink the whole cup, but you probably really needed two each stop. They had Ultima out on the course, but I did not partake. Who trains with Ultima? Can we get some Nuun out there, race directors? I love that stuff.

The medals were large, heavy, colorful, and race specific. I’m sorry I don’t have a picture to prove it. I do, however, have pictures of the EXCELLENT t-shirts. Mine is my new race favorite (sorry, 2007 Philadelphia Marathon (which I can’t find anyway)).

Even if it is a bit of a lie:

I'm a finisher in spirit

As both races sold out in October this year, they really don’t need me hyping this course. But if you can easily get to San Diego or are just looking for a vacation, I’d put this race way up on my to-do list. It’s beautiful, it’s fun, it’s well managed, there’s not a lot more you could ask for.

But just in case you wanted more, I leave you with some pictures of San Diego.

Pelicans in La Jolla

Seals in La Jolla

View of San Diego from the Cabrillo Memorial

*Alternate title: California: Super Cool to the Homeless

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lizard151 on January 25, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Behold! My awesome use of pictures. I’m not even going to bother trying to fix that last one. You guys get what I mean.

    Reply

  2. I love it! Great pics, love the seals and love the shirt!

    Reply

  3. Beautiful pics! Great shirt. Sorry you didn’t run but you were smart not to. Happy healing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

