Multisport Take 2

As some of you may know, I tried a triathlon last year. And by tried a triathlon, I mean got into a debilitating bike accident two weeks before the race, but still tried to do it (despite the fact that I was using a cane), had a giant freak out in the water, and quit.

But, as the bumper stickers say, tri tri again. And so, Lizard will soon be swimming and biking in addition to running.

I joined the New Triathletes Program through the DC Tri Club, which usually fills up in minutes but appears to still be open if you want to join me! It’s $100 for the program and an additional $35 to join DC Tri if you aren’t already a member.

The program culminates in a new DC Triathlon in June, but I can’t find any information about it. I’m torn between the sprint and olympic distances–yes, I’m scared of drowning, but I also really want to get my money’s worth out of training.

Any triathletes out there want to give me some advice? I need it.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Here is my advice in order:
    1. Get in as many open water swims as you possibly can.
    2. Get in as many bricks as you can.
    3. Practice your nutrition for your race anytime you are training.
    4. Become a lurker (at least) at beginnertriathlete.com. Great resources there and the forums are fantastic. My name there is Rollin’ Thunder.
    5. Enjoy yourself. Training with a team is going to help that a ton.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      Thanks, Mike! This is all so helpful–I really appreciate it. I’m kind of looking forward to the adventure…

      Reply

  2. Yay, Liz! I can’t wait to hear all about your training and about DC Tri Club – I’m planning on joining after I finish with Team In Training. Also, let me know what race you’re doing here in June. If it doesn’t conflict with the Chesapeake Bay Swim, I’ll join you, at least for a sprint.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 29, 2010 at 1:57 pm

      It’s on June 20, and it’s really called the DC Triathlon, but I cannot find it on Google. Allegedly, registration opens on Monday, so I’ll email you what I find out. You should definitely do it!

      Reply

  3. Posted by itsnotlucky on January 29, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    It’s still not sold out??? Making me reconsider my hesitation to join. Bastards! All I want is for someone to take me open-water swimming and also to tell me how to swim better! For the record, I have much fonder memories of Steelman than I do of Marine Corps. I just might not be rich enough for the tri lifestyle.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      Steelman made me more scared of swimming and my bike than I ever was before. And yet I’m going to do another tri. Hmmmmmm.

      Reply

  4. […] run 3 miles today and 6 tomorrow, and I was hoping to knock out the 3 at the informal run after my NTP orientation this morning. But by the time I got from my house to Foggy Bottom, we went from no snow on the […]

    Reply

  5. You do not have big legs! You are crazy 🙂

    Reply

  6. […] February, I started training for a spring triathlon, but I was still registered for my favorite race of all, the National Half Marathon. And there I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

