Snowpocalypse II: Surprise Accumulation

What’s up, snow day! (And what do we have to do to get one of these on a Monday?)

Thanks to a particularly busy week, I had big plans to run 3 miles today and 6 tomorrow, and I was hoping to knock out the 3 at the informal run after my NTP orientation this morning. But by the time I got from my house to Foggy Bottom, we went from no snow on the ground whatsoever to treacherous roads (25 minutes–I had to slow down!), so they scratched the run.

But all that talk of training and being already dressed in cold-weather running clothes had me itching to go out anyway. And after an absolutely miserable 3-mile run on the treadmill last night, I was ready to brave the elements.

So I suited up:

Wes was really getting a kick out of my outfit.

And headed out to return my overdue library book and pick up a prescription at CVS. (It helped that Pacers was giving out free socks to the first 10 people to post Facebook pictures of themselves running in the snow today.)

It wasn’t that bad–I ran down the middle of the street on the way out, and I found a lot of shoveled sidewalks on the way back in. And one woman yelled out to me, “Yeah, girl. Get it!” which kind of made my day.

There's snow on my eyelashes!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Great job! How’d the face mask work? I need one, but the one we have is more for snow mobiling.

    I didn’t run today because it was a rest day, but I was sure tempted.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on January 31, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      I kind of like it. It works better than using a scarf or something. I got it for riding my bike, but I rarely use it. It fogs up my sunglasses sometimes, so it’s better for cloudy days.

      Reply

  2. Hey, thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

    I love snowy runs.

    Reply

  3. Have you done Steamtown before?? I haven’t, but I’m hopeing it’s fast. I’ve done Chicago a couple times – love the city but I never had a great race there……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

