I Can Read: The Runner’s Rule Book

What else can you do when there’s 3 feet of snow on the ground? This recommendation might be coming a little late–I’m putting even odds on going back to work tomorrow–but that doesn’t make it any less enthusiastic.

I recently finished The Runner’s Rule Book by Mark Remy and the editors of Runner’s World. If you’re looking for a serious, informative, technique-driven book, this ain’t it. If, however, you’re looking for a funny gift for the runner in your life (especially a beginner, who might actually have something to learn from it), then this is your book.

The Runner’s Rule Book is basically a list of running etiquette rules with pithy explanations. I’ve been running and racing for some time now, so I already knew most of them, but I still got a laugh out of just about all of them. If you read the Runner’s World Daily blog, which is written by Rule Book author Mark Remy, you have an idea of the humor.

My favorite rule is Rule 2.45, which states that you must wipe down the track for the next runner once you’ve finished. I laughed out loud–maybe I’ve been going to the gym too much lately? But some of the rules are actually quite helpful, especially rule 3.3 Don’t Dress Like a Ninja and rule 1.68 Imagine the Worst (which even makes a joke about my hometown!!!!).

So if your Valentine is a runner, go ahead and pick up a copy, since you won’t be racing on Sunday morning. Provided your lady Valentine wouldn’t be too offended by the fact that all 14 types of runners listed in the book are men. (I’m offended, but I’m probably not rocking anybody’s world when I say sports coverage/media is sexist. If I find a running book that’s gender balanced, you’ll be the first to know.)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the review, I meant to ask for that book for Christmas, as he is twisted like me. Maybe you can write a woman’s version!

    Reply

  2. this sounds like a fun little book, thanks for the review! i probably would’ve overlooked it before and be missing out.

    Reply

  3. Wipe down the track–love it! I do enjoy his humor.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mark Remy on February 12, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Hey! Thanks for the nice review. I’m glad you liked the book. In my defense, though, the 14 types of runners are NOT all men. True, when I use pronouns in the descriptions I mostly use masculine pronouns. But “The Kicker” is referred to as “he or she.” And several descriptions (The Penguin, The Charity Runner, The Moaner) don’t use pronouns at all, making them gender-neutral! Thanks again, and happy running.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on February 12, 2010 at 10:42 am

      I stand corrected ;). All was forgiven by the Quakertown shout out, anyway. I should have mentioned that. Thanks for reading my review. I’m a big fan of your blog.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Mark Remy on February 12, 2010 at 11:36 am

    You know, I wondered if anyone in or around Quakertown would see that and get a chuckle. Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

