Swimming is Hard

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. Swimming is really f-ing hard.

I’m not as pathetic as I was last year, when I started training for my first (failed) triathlon, but still. I swam a total of about 600 meters (the longest was 50 at a stretch–twice) in 30 minutes today. Yes, real swimmers, make fun of me, I can take it. To top it all off, my form is all jacked up because my body is feeling worn out, though I’m not sure why, because I’m not doing anything.

Oh well–I’ll be back tomorrow with the running talk. I’d like to do 4 or 5 if the sidewalks downtown are clear, so fingers crossed. Today I spent the morning at jury duty. They paid me $30 to sit in a room for three hours and read. I asked if I could come back next week. Sadly, it’ll be 3 years until they need me again.

10 responses to this post.

  1. I have a bad memory of hooking up with a TRI group to swim in the 90’s and it was kind of like Shaq vs. Phelps. I was Shaq and they did two laps to my half. very embarassing…

    I’ll stick to pool running and let them make fun of me that way.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on February 17, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      Did I tell you about my friend–she joined a master’s swim team when she hurt her hip, and one time a one-armed woman lapped her. I know how she feels.

      Reply

  2. I will never laugh at anyone who attempts to swim. Hell will most likely freeze over before I get in the pool. Glad you enjoyed JD!

    Reply

  3. Awesome! Go you! Glad to hear you’re getting back in the pool. 600 meters is nothing to laugh at, especially for your first real swim since the summer.

    Let me know if you ever want some company. I’m always looking for a buddy to keep me honest.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on February 17, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      I was thinking I needed your help–but let me get a few more workouts under my belt before I go inviting anyone else in to see my shame πŸ˜‰

      Reply

      • What if we go for a run afterwards? I think there’s little doubt that your swimming is better than my running. We can share the shame. πŸ˜›

      • Posted by lizard151 on February 18, 2010 at 2:40 pm

        Then we’d have to wait til it warms up. I’m not going running in this weather with wet hair. What would my mother say!

  4. swimming is sooo hard. i can barely make it one length of the pool without stopping to catch my breath (and yes i breathe while swimming though probably not very efficiently). i give you props!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on February 17, 2010 at 10:07 pm

      Ha, it’s been a long, slow slog to making it all the way across the pool πŸ˜‰ But I’ll take those props! Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

