I Liked the Run, or, It’s Not You, It’s Me

Capital Area Runners represent

So, at long long long last, I ran the Love the Run You’re With 5k on Sunday. But after all that time–the 2-week postponement, the fact that it was no longer being held on Valentine’s Day or Boy Monkey’s birthday weekend, and the fact that now, thanks to my big mouth, I have a Valentine’s Day-themed shirt that I can’t really wear until next year (despite the fact that I said I’d wear it every day)–the whole thing just felt a little anticlimactic. And I feel like I should mention that the shirt makes my breasts look, um, ample.

But I don’t mean to rain on everyone’s parade! I had a great time–lots of my friends came out to run, and the course didn’t feel nearly as daunting as I thought it was going to feel. I ran 28:40 with Boy Monkey (actually I kept running away from him, so I started before and finished before him, but somehow we still had the same exact time, so I look like a much better girlfriend than I actually am). And for a February race, the weather was great–a little cold once you stopped moving, but perfect for racing.

Thankfully, Cheryl took pictures. I didn’t. Blogging FAIL.

For now, I’m off to do my first track workout in months. I swam my butt off on Monday, so I skipped yesterday morning’s workout. And I had dinner plans last night, so I’m headed out solo on my day off. Woooooooooo random day off!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Sorry I didn’t see you! I was trying hard not to end up wet LOL. Good job on the race.

    I’m at the mile 5 aid station at the National Marathon. I’ll try to pay better attention then. ;o)

    Reply

  2. Ha! It was still fun to get out on the roads and it was warmer than recently, if not slightly windy! I just wished I wasn’t so mentally damaged that I posed for a picture like I had super cute pink shoes, when I had already changed out of them…

    You did great, your first race and what, 2nd run? The day after you did a LONG run, I might add.

    The monkey shirt made my boobs look less than ample (they actually look negated), so maybe you shouldn’t blame the shirt.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 3, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      Are you calling me fat?

      Just kidding–it was awesome to get out and run. I just wish Wes had trained for it 😉

      Reply

  3. Ha! No, Dolly Parton, I’m calling you well endowed. Genes I don’t have!

    Reply

  4. Can you loan me that shirt? It was a good day for racing weather-wise. It seems strange that racing season is upon us, though, with so much snow out there, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  5. Yay the race finally happened! V-day theme or not the shirt is cute. And ample breasts? Wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

