How Much Is Too Much?

This week I really went after it. For the first time in so long I’m feeling awesome, and I’m not injured, and I want to take advantage of it! And take advantage I did.

On Monday, I hit up the DC Tri swim workout and proceeded to swim a total of 1500 yards. My prior distance record was probably about 600 meters, so I was feeling like queen of the triathlon. (Yes, visions of a Half Ironman are now dancing in my head…)

Tuesday was a rest day. So I just went to boot camp.

Wednesday I had the day off, so I went out and did a little track workout on my own. Fun fact: Washington-Lee lets their students out on the track at lunch, which is great for the kids, but not for the idiot out there running circles by herself.  But I finished with a total of about 5.75 miles and ran faster than I’d expected.

Thursday I biked to work for the first time in like 4 months. I rode straight in to crazy wind the entire way.

Friday I went to the CAR tempo run. It was so much fun to be out there again, but I headed out fast (about 8:02–fast for my current fitness level) and managed to hold on for the next two miles, finishing with a 7:54 third mile. Then I went to sports conditioning at lunch and biked home (tail wind!).

THEN we had friends over for dinner and afterward went out to the H Street Country Club, where I rolled a 330 in skee ball. Some guy pulled me aside and asked me if I was in a league. I thought he was joking, but it turns out they actually exist, and I am now seriously trying to put together a team. So let me know if you want in.

I got home at 3 and went to sleep for a few hours before getting up and going to my DC Tri New Triathlete Program heart rate monitor clinic, which was followed by a group run. Katie and I did 4 miles with the group before heading out with plans to do 8 more on our own. But I finally crashed. I made it down the hill from Cleveland Park to Georgetown and couldn’t go anymore. I think we did about 9 miles walking the last mile up hill.

But I’m not kicking myself. 8 miles is still enough to get me through the National Half in two weeks, and I did A LOT this week. My goal for the next two weeks is to rest properly. But it feels so good to be back 🙂

6 responses to this post.

  1. 1. Glad you are feeling great!
    2. Look for me at aid station 5.
    3. I didn’t realize that the track and W&L was open during the school day. I may have to check that out as it’s an easy jog from my house.

    Reply

  2. We DO have a skeeball league and its only but the coolest game in town!

    Glad you are feeling better. Have you thought of a team name yet for Skeeball? You should work in your Tri stuff… TriSkee, SkeeTri, Skeeathlon, just ideas 😉

    Cheers.

    Reply

  3. Oh so glad you’re back! Perfect timing too!
    I wish I was closer as I adore Skeeball!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 10, 2010 at 3:09 pm

      Well if you’re ever in town, we can go play 🙂 I’m so glad you’re back…surely it’s enough time for Boston 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

