Big-Girl Bicycling

Look who’s clipping in!

Oooooooooh

I also attached this fine contraption to my bike this morning:

Which makes me think I really need a road bike for racing. Who wants to keep putting on and taking off a rack?

On a side note, I’m crazy sore today. I can’t remember my last real rest day. I think I’m going to head home and sit in a nice cold bath. I can’t handle an ice bath. And I’m going to save my ride home for tomorrow. I have the luxury of parking my bike in my office overnight. Greatest. Perk. Ever.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katie on March 11, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I remember in college, you’d really notice when kiddos training for the Little 500 bike race would get clipped-in for the first time, because at stoplights, they’d all be falling over….so good luck!!!! I’d be way too scared.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      Ha, I’ve had some close calls already, including one at 10:30 last night ON Rt. 1. But, at the risk of jinxing myself, so far so good. I was pretty scared, too, but I took to them right away.

      Reply

  2. Congrats! Everyone tips over at some point in the early days of using clipless pedals. Sometimes even in the not-so-early days. 🙂

    Yes! I would highly recommend a road bike for racing, if you can swing it. Not just because of taking the rack on and off, but because it will be lighter, more comfortable, and will handle far better. Your overall race experience will be that much more enjoyable and satisfying.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

      Thanks! I’m really loving the challenge. I told the guy at the bike shop I was looking for any excuse to buy a new bike, and he assured me I didn’t need an excuse 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

