Races to Run: Four Courts Four Miler

What: Four Courts Four Miler

When: Saturday, March 13, 9 a.m.

Where: Courthouse, Arlington, VA (Metro accessible from the Courthouse stop on the orange line)

Why: I had no plans to do this race. Until I saw the shirt. Also, you know, if you like challenges and blah blah, and if, like me, you’re looking for an easy PR. (My 4 miler PR is 31-something, which is probably not an easy PR, per se, but it won’t be 100 degrees for this race, unlike my PR race.) Of course my PR race didn’t have a 2-mile hill either, which bring us to…

Details: The Four Courts Four is another new race from Pacers Events. This one has the added bonus of the Leap the Leprechaun challenge, wherein the Irish guy that works there will start 9 minutes late and try to pass everyone. His old start time was 6 minutes–I might stand a chance at 9!

But, the race starts and ends outside the Four Courts in Courthouse:

And then you run down a really great, mile-long hill. I tried to take pictures of the downhill in Rosslyn, which is even steeper, but I couldn’t find a place to park. But it gets even steeper! Then you run out to Rt. 110, and then, of course, you turn around and come back up the hill.

I ran this hill in training a few weeks ago, and as MCM Mama found, it’s not that bad. And look on the bright side: I vividly remember running the Battle of the Boulevard and reaching the top of this hill only to see the one leading to Clarendon before me. I’m sure I cursed out loud. At least now you get to stop 🙂

8 responses to this post.

  1. Not sure how I feel about the rain and gusts of wind predicted for tomorrow though. And I’ve spent all day trying to figure out at what point the leprechaun will be passing me. My goal is to make it past mile 3 and on the hill before he blows by me. And as you said, at least we don’t have to do the hill into Clarendon with this race.

    Good luck tomorrow!

    Reply

  2. looks like 55 degrees, SOME rain and 18mph winds. Better than HEAVY rain! 🙂
    9 minutes… no, no, I’m taking it easy!
    curses…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Katie on March 13, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I hope you got your cold and windy PR! I got a max heart rate PR….haha, I guess it’s something. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 13, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      Ha, this turned out to be my SLOWEST 4 miler yet. I died at about mile 2.5. Congratulations on your run!

      Reply

  4. i’d probably run it for the shirt too!! pretty sweet. hope you had a good race/fun time!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jacob on March 14, 2010 at 10:39 am

    The shirt was definitely worth the pain of that hill, as well as the Pacers glass for beating the leprechaun. Ran in the St Patrick’s Day 8K in DC this morning, but I liked everything about the Four Courts race better.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 14, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      I’ll have to settle for the satisfaction of a job well done instead of the pint glass 😉 But I’ll be posting about how the St. Patrick’s Day race is nothing but bad luck for me. So I’m glad to have an alternative–especially one with a much much much cooler shirt.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

