Race Report: Four Courts Four Miler

Well, it’s official: I’ve run 3 4-mile races, and each one has been slower than the last. But that’s ok. As you know, I did

Cheryl snapped a shot of me right after the turn around.

this one solely for the shirt. And seeing as I just got back in to training and can’t remember my last rest day (February 19?) it’s not exactly surprising that I conked out big time.

We arrived in Courthouse during torrential downpours, so Boy Monkey and I hung out in the car for a while. I floated the suggestion that we go home and back to sleep a few times, but the rain let up 10 minutes before race time, so we finally climbed out to join our drenched compatriots.

The race started, and we headed down Wilson Boulevard. As we were coming in to Rosslyn, I saw like 3 dudes all down and tying their shoe, and I thought, weird, that’s a lot of shoes untied. And then mine came untied right before the 1 mile mark (which was, coincidentally, the end of the hill). My first mile was 8:22 with the shoe-tying; I tried to keep it under control so I’d have some energy left for the uphill. My second mile was 8:16, and then I started to fade. The leprechaun caught me just before mile 3, though he apologized. Mile 3 was 8:24, and then I started up the hill.

On my way up, I wondered how I ever finished the Battle of the Boulevard, which finishes even higher up the hill. I finally reached the finish line, a 9:22 last mile for a final time of 34:27.

The good: The crowd was in good spirits despite the weather. I saw lots of friends out there, and a few of us even went to brunch afterward. Of course the t-shirts were amazing, and the results were posted by about noon. I didn’t go to the after-race party, because french toast is my morning vice of choice, but some lady did offer us her drink tickets–because, according to Boy Monkey, we must look like people who like to get drunk at 10 am. Hey, it’s 5 o’clock in Ireland, right? Or close enough. Also, the leprechaun was a fun touch, and maybe next year I’ll beat him. I’ve had some, shall we say, difficulties with the Capital Running Company St. Patrick’s Day 8k, so I’d pick the Four Courts Four over that one, but I still pick the National Marathon over both of them.

The bad: That hill is a killer, which makes this race not especially beginner friendly unless you’re a beginner in to masochism. Also, it’s a little pricey (about $39 after fees) but bad-ass t-shirts don’t come cheap.

Congratulations to everyone who ran! How did you do?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jacob on March 15, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I took the metro from Alexandria to get there early to get some miles in before the race. With national marathon coming up I was shooting for 10 miles total that day but ended up falling short. Got my 4 miles in before and four during, but then I had my pint glass and couldn’t risk dropping that running in the rain for the final two miles. Race was slow for me too, 28 mins compared to 26 mins for the new years eve fairfax four. What is your goal time on Saturday?

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 16, 2010 at 9:31 am

      I’m just doing the half, and my goal right now is to finish. I did 8 on Sunday and was feeling tired and sore, and I haven’t run 13 miles since December, when I strained my calf in the Tucson half. All that being said, my slowest half is a 1:58 something I did as a training run, and I plan to at least break that. What’s your goal? I LOVE pint glasses, by the way, so I think you made the right decision to preserve yours.

      Reply

  2. I loved this race. It was nice to end at that point instead of having to keep going. I’m also a big fan of Guinness at 10 am LOL. I didn’t feel so bad about Robbie (the leprechaun) passing me when I saw he passed more than 1000 people.

    Good luck next weekend. I’ll be volunteering at the Aid station at mile 5, so I’ll look for you!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 16, 2010 at 9:33 am

      Yeah, I was just looking at the results, and Robbie still had the 12th-fastest chip time. But I’ll get him next year 😉 And I’ll keep an eye out at mile 5!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Jacob on March 17, 2010 at 4:47 am

    My goal time is 3:20, which would be pr but not feeling my best yet. Could change by Saturday, expecting great weather. This is my first time running a marathon course for second time. Ran 3:25 last year but was way overdressed due to 28 degree start time warming into the upper 40s by finish. Mcm mama, thanks for volunteering, couldn’t do this without all the selfless volunteers.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jessica on March 17, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Great picture! Good luck on Sunday – I’ll be out there somewhere cheering you guys, at least until I loose my voice 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jessica on March 17, 2010 at 10:52 am

    duh, i mean Saturday sorry

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      Thanks! I’m so glad you’re coming out–this is the first long race I’ve run in forever when I know I won’t have my usual support crew–so I really appreciate you being out there. See you at dinner on Friday!

      Reply

  6. […] About « Race Report: Four Courts Four Miler […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

