Happy Marathon Day!

At long last, TODAY is the New York Marathon lottery day! But it’s also the first day of registration for  Marine Corps and Steamtown (or was that April 1? registration is already open for it, so who knows) so let’s just say that, one way or another, I’m registering for a marathon today!

Update: Marine Corps! I didn’t get in to NYC, so I went with the cheapest, most convenient option. Even though I swore I’d never do it again. Even though they have that stupid, fugly cotton shirt (coveted mock my ass). The fact is, MCM day is my favorite thing about living in DC, and running it is pretty awesome. Anyone else with me?

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jake on April 7, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    No thanks, after last year, I vowed to never run the MCM again. I enjoyed the course and the military theme, but not much else about it. If I was running a marathon in DC area in October, I’d go with the Baltimore Marathon.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on April 7, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      You’re right, you’re right, but I’ve vowed to stop spending so much $$ on races, and even Baltimore requires a hotel room. Though I love and miss it…maybe next year I’ll do Philly so I can do the Baltimore half again.

      Reply

      • Posted by Jake on April 8, 2010 at 8:38 pm

        Baltimore doesn’t require a hotel room, just an earlier wake up call. 🙂

  2. I loved running the MCM, but I hated training through the summer, so no fall marathon for me. I’m hoping to get out to cheer for it though.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on April 8, 2010 at 5:00 pm

      I like training in the summer just because I can force myself to get out of bed in the morning because it will be soooooooooooooooo hot later. And then I can enjoy the rest of my day. But I don’t love running it, though I don’t think I’d love any marathon at this point in my life…

      Reply

  3. Sorry you didn’t get in. Out of all the people I know in the lottery only 1 got in.
    I’ve heard all good things about MCM. I planned on it for 2011. Maybe I should reconsider??

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on April 8, 2010 at 5:01 pm

      No, you should still come! We can have a blog summit! I’ll put up a post about it, but I like the race, I just have lots of bad memories. And it is a tough course–8 miles of hills to start with lots of downhill. Very strategic.

      Reply

  4. I’m sorry you didn’t get into NYC, but am glad you will be running a race I can be there for! Yes, though their shirts are mega ugly.

    Reply

  5. sorry you didn’t get into NYC, but at least you have MCM! i haven’t done that one yet … need to one of these years!

    Reply

  6. Sorry you missed out on NY, but hopefully MC will serve as a good substitute. It’s flat, right? So that counts for something!

    Reply

  7. Hi, so glad to have you in the core challenge! Can you let me know your name and I’ll edit my post with the list of participants to include you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

