Sacrilege

Just got back from an absolutely gorgeous training session on this perfect day. We started with an open water swim at 9 a.m. out at Sandy Point State Park in Annapolis and followed it up with a 20+ mile bike ride through the shady, rolling hills of the city. Then Kate and I got some fro yo to celebrate a job well done. I’m not saying marathons aren’t awesome and that I don’t enjoy grueling 20-mile runs in 80-degree weather, but I am saying that triathlon training is a little bit easier, faster, and more scenic 😉

But of course I didn’t take any pictures, so you’ll have to take my word to it until next time I get out there.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on May 17, 2010 at 9:31 am

    That frogurt was so delicious, too.

    Reply

  2. Really? Tri training is easier etc? Then why am I so damn intimidated by it?? One of these days…

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on May 18, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      It is MUCH easier on your body. You recover from swimming and biking so much faster than running. The swim is scary though 😉

      Reply

  3. I need to do an open water swim! How is Sandy Point?

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on May 19, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      It’s great and probably the closest option, plus it means lunch in Annapolis or at Wawa. I’ve also been to Lake Anna, which is also lovely and has no current, but it’s farther away and pretty remote. BUT Sandy Point is pretty much out this weekend because of a blues festival being held there.

      Reply

      • I read that online and of course after this weekend I’m busy for the next 3! My tri isn’t until Jun 27 though so I will hopefully get an open water swim in the weekend before. I might volunteer for the DC Tri so maybe I will see you and give you extra cheers!

  4. […] I threw myself into triathlon training on my new bike. I followed their schedule exactly, running only when it called for running, not worrying that that only meant about 15 miles a week. And slowly, I could feel myself getting back into shape. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

