Three Things Thursday

1. So you may have noticed that I’ve been training for a triathlon for a little while now. What you may not know is that I’m totally not registered for it. For a long time I put it off because I wanted to do the Olympic but wasn’t sure I could handle the swim. Now that I’m positive I couldn’t handle the swim, I’ve decided to do the Sprint, but I was still putting it off until I got paid tomorrow. But, for the record, I didn’t register for my first marathon until right before the last price increase so I could still back out, and for my first 10-miler I joined a Cherry Blossom training program…and never registered for the race. I ended up doing the Cherry Pits 10 miler because I could sign up well after CB closed, and it was only $4. The course is also gorgeous but MUCH hillier. Anyway, I’m just saying that even though my awesome tri mentor thinks I’m crazy, I’ve got a system.

2. I’m having yet another quarter-life crisis. I’m pretty sure I can’t be an editor forever, and my dream job isn’t to cram edits down the throats of people who think they don’t need them (whether they need them or not) so if you know of any jobs, send them my way. In the meantime I’ll be all reevaluating my priorities and thinking about (more) grad school and stuff like that. (Grad school would be a no-brainer if I didn’t already have a useless master’s degree–that I really enjoyed getting at least.)

3. Tomorrow is Bike to Work Day! I first participated years and years ago. I rode my bike from Capitol Hill to my office downtown, but was too shy to stop by the pit stop and get my t-shirt. Then two years ago I started bike commuting–in January, no less–and was stoked to celebrate Bike to Work Day with my compatriots. But it was raining. So I took the bus in and felt guilty about it all year until the same thing happened last year, and I was like, whatever, I ride my bike all the time. But tomorrow it’s finally going to happen! Except I really can’t remember if I ever signed up to stop at the Freedom Plaza stop or not… but I guess I don’t really need another t-shirt.

7 responses to this post.

  1. You have a certain type of luck for these sorts of things!

    Sorry about the quarter life crisis, but look at the bright side, at least you are confident you will live to be 104!

    You and Erin are going to have SWEET weather in the morning, maybe even too warm! Imagine??? Have a great time, we’ll miss you at tempo. Get the shirt, it’s obviously been nagging at you!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on May 23, 2010 at 8:18 pm

      They only had larges left, so I got one for Wes, who did bike in, just not in time to make it to a pit stop. But seriously, I really do have some luck and all the intentions of living to 104 😉

      Reply

  2. I had a quarter-life crisis (quarter plus 3?) and it sent me back for another master’s degree (mba) which will hopefully be more useful than the first (music. yeah, what was i thinking?) good luck figuring things out…hopefully it’ll land you somewhere happier than where you are now, which is the whole point! email me about what kind of jobs you are looking for…i work for a company that’s going to be doing a lot of hiring in the next 3 months….

    and, blog posts 2 days in a row? you’re on fire! enjoy your biking to work. i’ll be celebrating my green-commute by walking out to the couch. ha.

    Reply

  3. Hey! I sent an email to your hotmail account about Saturday – let me know if you got it!

    I’m going to freedom plaza tomorrow too 🙂

    Reply

  4. Good luck figuring the job thing out. I’ve already done the masters degree and the successful career – now I”m trying to figure out what I want to be when i grow up. (And I’m almost 40 and still haven’t figured it out.)

    Reply

  5. Confession: I’m not signed up for any of the races on my “race schedule” this year. I think it’s actually messing with my head.

    Funny, during my quarter-life (or maybe 1/3-life?) crisis, I became an editor. But I love it and can’t imagine doing anything else. Except maybe being a writer. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on May 23, 2010 at 8:24 pm

      Ok, ok, it’s a 1/3 life crisis 🙂 I’ve been a writer for the man and ugh. You’re very brave 😉 I’ve always had writing and editing jobs because I was good at them and everyone wants to be a do-gooder in DC so the competition was fierce, so I just took the job I had in hand. It’s time for adventure!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

