Bikes!

I. Am. Exhausted.

As mentioned, Friday was Bike to Work Day, which was amazing.  I finally got to participate! I’m not usually on the trail at 8:30 in the morning, but I’m pretty sure that it was more crowded than usual. Freedom Plaza was packed, but I didn’t get there in time to grab any swag. (I have pictures, but my phone is being a wanker and not letting me download them right now. Stay tuned for Wordless Wednesday!)

Friday night was CAR girls’ night, which was also a blast. We had a huge crew out, and I got to meet a lot of the people I didn’t know because they are way too fast or run at night. There was also some strange man there whose fiance wanted to take a picture of all of us with him because of some DC urban legend about beautiful single women. She didn’t really explain what the urban legend was–so if anyone has any idea what it is, let me know. I just want to know to what degree I should have rolled my eyes. But because I was standing with a bunch of married ladies (that is, not single) I still got in a pretty satisfying eye roll nonetheless.

Saturday morning I did 7+ easy miles in 1:10, and for the first time my hip flexors and glutes weren’t screaming. They were just kind of grumbling, so progress! Then I met a bunch of local bloggers at Washington Sports Clubs in Columbia Heights for a workout party Dove deodorant put on with my new blog friend/internet twin Liz from Liz Runs DC. The class was intense in a great way, and we got a really great shirt just for showing up, but I got there late and ended up with a large, so Katie got a really great shirt 😉

Sunday I woke up at 6:15 and dragged Wes out of bed at 6:30 (“Are we really going to do this?” he asked without opening his eyes) to head out to Bike DC. Yes, at 6:30 it was raining steadily, but it stopped by the time we left the house at 7 and held off for the rest of the ride. We rode into the city, again to Freedom Plaza, before heading out on a ride around the sites of DC and Arlington. The course reminded me of the Marine Corps Marathon course, but with much less bargaining with God and vows of never again and the like.

At the base of the Air Force Memorial

We rode past the White House out to the GW Parkway, along there for a long time then back to Rosslyn for a rest stop and a trip around Iwo Jima before heading out to the Air Force Memorial. From there we took a straight shot to the finish line at Crystal City. We grabbed another banana, checked out the traveling bike museum, and headed back to Old Town. We rolled up at home with 2:29 on the clock and 28.5 miles on the odometer (it’s not a race, obviously ;)). Then we headed to brunch at Vermilion, my A#1 brunch place (and I know brunch). Afterward I bought some more GU chomps–I’ve been training enough to run out!–took Katie home, and took an hour-and-a-half nap.

After we woke up, Wes and I took my commuter bike to the shop. It was giving Katie a really hard time this morning and lo and behold, one of the shifter cables was torn. Luckily, that’s a minor fix. I wanted to go home and take another nap, but instead we walked around Old Town for a while and had a delicious dinner at the Pita House. And now I’m going to bed.

Sorry about the lack of pictures. I’ll get them up this week!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a fabulous weekend! Wish I could have spent my day that way!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on May 24, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      We saw a family out there on a tandem with a bike trailer and then like two more kids on separate bikes, all in matching USA jerseys. I’m just saying, that could be you and your family 😉

      Reply

  2. Posted by itsnotlucky on May 23, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    It is a pretty nice shirt! I’m wearing it RIGHT NOW. Also, you forgot about our brick after Bike DC! I did too until I read this; it probably explains why I fell asleep on the porch this afternoon though.

    Also, lookin’ good at the Air Force Memorial

    Reply

  3. I wanted to do Bike DC. Looks like it was a fun time! That is weird about the woman who was saying the single girl thing in DC legend. I think it would deserve full force eye roll.

    Reply

  4. hurrah for blogger workout party! glad to finally meet you too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

