Post Hunt Birthday Extravaganza

Now for part two of my weekend. Sunday dawned bright and early, and I headed out to a transition clinic at Catholic University. In hindsight, I wish I had just gone for a run. I had just had some good transition practice the day before, and I didn’t learn anything new. I’ve been to many many clinics in the past few weeks, and it’s time to start thinking about the marathon in October. Not that it wasn’t a highly informative clinic. It’s just that I’ve been to like 8 highly informative clinics in the past 5 months. I don’t need anymore triathlon theory. I need some triathlon racing!

But the best part of the clinic was the fact that they had us swim one length of the pool, run outside and hop on our bikes for a lap of the extremely cinder-y and pothole-filled parking lot, and then run down the block. So that was fun. My transition area looked a lot neater and more organized than it did on Saturday, anyway.

Afterward, I drove downtown to meet Katie and Wes at the Post Hunt! The hunt is run by Tom Shroder, the former editor of the Washington Post Magazine (aka the editor back when I used to be obsessed with it), Gene Weingarten, and Dave Barry. I walked thisclose to all three of them and was totally geeking out–not enough to talk to them, just enough to stare uncomfortably and covet their jobs.

Anyway, the Post Hunt consists of 5 puzzles and an end game. You wander around downtown DC and try to solve the puzzles, then you meet back at Freedom Plaza for an end game. I’m pretty good at dumb puzzle games, and we managed to solve 4 of them. We messed up the 5th thanks to Taylor Swift, and that’s all I’ll say about that. But the end game was a jumble, which I am TERRIBLE at. By the time Wes put it together for us, we were too late to get the menu, so it was game over for us. It was kind of a bummer, because I would have liked to try to solve it. To add to the bummer, the sky opened up on us, so we were standing out in the rain for naught. But overall I had a fantastic game, and I’ll be back next year. I love games that make me feel smart šŸ˜‰

You can watch the video for the end game here. Think you would have stood a chance?

The birthday girl reacts to hearing the solution to the speech puzzle.

This is how many people were left AFTER the downpour.

After the hunt, we broke up for the afternoon. Katie and Wes took naps, but I went for a run. My easy 3 miles ended up being killer and resulted in some calf soreness. I’d forgotten that it’s ok to take it easy the week of a race, which is what my training du was. I gave it all I had. But I’m fine now–no lasting damage.

We reconvened at Ping Pong Dim Sum for Katie’s birthday dinner. It’s a little pricey, but the decor is gorgeous and the food is delicious. I am in love with the vegetable puff.

Because it was Katie’s birthday, they offered her her choice of cherry mousse or a birthday cake shot. She went with the mousse, but they were out of cherries, so she agreed to the shot. But then they brought her the mousse with strawberries instead of cherries AND the shot. Good times.

You can almost see that this is a plate of strawberries and mousse.

And then we went over to Rocket Bar to play some skee ball and Big Buck Hunter. The Big Buck Hunter website describes it as “America’s Favorite Hunting Game,” and I’d have to agree. As much as my vegetarian sensibilities are offended by the shooting of video animals, I would have to agree that it is definitely my absolute favorite hunting game. And Sunday is now my favorite day to go out. Those are my kinds of crowds.

Skee ball!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on June 10, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Thanks for taking me out for my bday!!!!

    Reply

  2. Mmmmm, strawberries and mousse. Mmmmm.

    Reply

  3. Wow, not only do you take her out for her Bday, you post about it and give her some space for some Prit-tee flattering pictures… Happy Birthday Katie!

    Reply

  4. that post hunt thing seems so cool! too bad you didn’t win the big prize but getting 4/5 is a success to me šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

