24.5 Miles

24.5 miles. That’s how many I ran this week. It’s not a lot, but it’s the most I ran in who knows how long. And it was tough getting them all in the week after my tri, which also happened to be the hottest week ever. Just kidding–it was crazy hot, but if I know DC, it’s going to be much hotter come August.

I just got back from banging out a nice and slow 6 miles with my sister. It was her last long DC run, so I really tortured her. Just kidding, but we did run near her house (lots of hills), and I was so tired that I wanted to run at 8am. I don’t know what the official temperature was, but it read “Hot as Balls” on the Lizard scale, which means whatever you think it means. The highlight of the run was definitely my stop in the zoo’s air conditioned bathrooms. I finished the run with sweat marks that bordered on obscene. I wanted to take a picture, but even I have to draw my dignity line somewhere.

Next week I need to push it up closer to 30. It’s an increase of more than 10%, but I really need to get my mileage up, and I’m hoping my body can handle it after all the tri training. It will involve lots of slow running and ice though, so I don’t hurt myself.

But I’ll worry about that next week. Right now I’m going to go take a shower and a nap before I go buy some new running shoes and meet friend and fellow blogger Amy to break in her new bike! Does that count as a blogger meet up? Do I have to take pictures?

P.S. Lots of luck to my blog twin Liz Runs DC on her tri today!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by itsnotlucky on June 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    The channel with Meet the Press on it said it was 89 degrees right after you left! I also got an “extreme heat and humidity” warning email from Alert DC. That’s balls-hot for sure. Be safe on your bike ride!

    Reply

  2. Posted by amy on June 27, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    We might be totally nuts but I’m excited to head out on the bike anyway! And, to run 30 or so miles with you this week. It makes me excited that these are the things we get excited about.

    Reply

  3. […] did the tri. I ran 24.5 miles the week afterward. It was time to start training for MCM, but this time I swore I’d do it […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

