Week in Review

Last week was a bit of a killer. Let’s review:

35 running miles. What’s up, marathoners. I can’t remember the last time I ran so much, but by the end of the weekend, I had churned out a chunk of miles below 9-minute pace. It feels good to be back.

Monday: about 15 easy miles on bikes with friends. (Editor’s joke: I couldn’t figure out which prepositional phrase to use there first! With friends on bikes? Why are editors so unfunny?)

Tuesday: Badass track workout. I ran my 2 x 800 and 6 x 400 right at the pace chart values for a 3:40 marathon. And while, yes, I did used to run at 3:30 paces, I haven’t lately, and it was like 90 degrees and 70% humidity that morning, so I will still call myself a badass.

Wednesday: Yoga and a fantastic bike clinic with Sports and Spinal PT. It was another easy ride, but now I know a lot more about riding in groups and am ready to join one. Just as soon as I can find one that doesn’t interfere with my running workouts…

Thursday: 6 mile recovery run in more crazy heat. I felt really good though, and even had one of those miles dip under 9–which I then paid for later in that run and the next day. At mile 4.5 I just stopped and stood there to catch my breath for a few minutes and then

Friday: I ran 4 miles at a much slower pace than Thursday’s run, even though it was 10 degrees cooler. We all know the heat is a killer, but we never act like we do 😉

Saturday: 12 miles with my one of my best running partners. We took it out niiiiiiice and easy–up the hill from Roosevelt Island and across the Key Bridge in a brisk 10:42. Oops. No wonder we were able to come back with an 8:12 mile. I believe we averaged 9:18, which is much faster than I have been running and not bad for a run that was half up hill and in the pouring rain. And just think how fast we would have been if I had looked at my watch at any point during that first mile…

Sunday: DC Tri training tri! For real this time! And for the record, my transition area looked so awesome that I regretted not bringing a camera this time to redeem myself. I was definitely sick to my stomach as we started–I really hate the idea of swimming in a crowd, even when it’s in a pool. And my worst-case scenario happened, someone passed me! Argh, it was so terrible! Kidding, obviously, I’m trying to make fun of my absurd fears in hindsight, hoping that they’ll eventually go away. Anyway, the swim and transition (400 meters and a long way, barefoot, back to the bike) 14:24, 11 of that was swimming; biking 55:59 with transition for 16.5 miles, so about 18.2 mph, I think my computer said–either way it was my fastest yet–then 25:43 for the 5k-ish run.  Total: 1:36:08 by my watch.

A decent picture!

Now off to swim…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by amy on July 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    35 miles AND a training tri…not bad for a week 🙂 Nicely done!

    Where do you do yoga?

    Reply

  2. Wow, you are a badass and you look *glowy* in that picture…
    Congrats!

    Reply

  3. Posted by itsnotlucky on July 12, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Liz on the phone yesterday: “Triathlons are so hard! I’m so tired!”

    Liz on the internets: “Look how much I exercised this week!”

    Reply

  4. HA HA HA! your sister’s comment totally cracked me up.

    where you do yoga? i broke up with my yoga class after 3 seriously insane instructors in a row.

    i’m back in DC tonight…pick a day out of the next, um, 6, and we’ll ride.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

