Yoga for Calvary!

So there’s been a lot of talk on my blog and my friends’ blogs about the benefits (or not) of yoga for runners. I believe in them 100%–as long as you’re not trying to “compete” at yoga, you’ll feel lighter, looser, and more focused for your runs. It has also helped me breathe better. I could go on and on, and I probably will at some point, but I wanted to let you all know about a fabulous yoga event that benefits my A#1 favorite charity, Calvary Women’s Services.

I’m stealing this directly from Calvary’s Facebook page:

Calling all yogis (beginners to advanced)! Join volunteers, supporters, and other friends of Calvary for an all-levels yoga class to benefit Calvary. THIS SATURDAY 7/17 from 10:15 to 11:45 AM at Stroga in Adams Morgan. It’s a “pay what you can” class – all proceeds will directly support Calvary’s programs. For more information, visit Stroga’s website or contact Calvary at information@calvaryservices.org.

I’ve been volunteering with Calvary for years. They are a long-term homeless shelter for women, and they do amazing work. When I qualify for Boston, I’m going to make my run there extra special by raising money for Calvary. So please, come out and join us. I’ll be there, Wes doesn’t know it yet, but he’ll probably be there, and anyone who runs with me on Saturday morning will have their ear talked off until they agree to be there too.

Maybe I should mention that Stroga is an absolutely gorgeous studio in Adams Morgan. And we can go to brunch afterwards. Sold yet?

7 responses to this post.

  1. I’m a likely/maybe. I have a friend coming in from out of town. She loves yoga but I’m not sure what time she will get in Friday (and therefore if she will be up for doing much Saturday).

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on July 15, 2010 at 12:43 pm

      I hope you guys make it! Stroga is actually in this restored old hotel or something, so the studio is really beautiful–which is a roundabout way of saying that it would be a kind of neat thing to do with someone from out of town. But I realize that 10:15 is kind of early 😉 Have a great visit if I don’t see you!

      Reply

  2. Posted by amy on July 15, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I want to go! But I can’t. Driving my sister-in-law, brother-in-law and the cutest 5 year old on the planet to the airport so they can go on vacation.

    Reply

  3. Good for you! I wish I could fit yoga into my life, but not right now. But I love that you are doing it and doing it for a great cause.

    You asked about my husband’s conference call…yeah, it was 9:30 before he was finished. He was beat by day’s end (b/c he of course stayed on and worked all day after that!)

    Reply

  4. I wish I could go, but that is way to much traveling for 1 day for me and the stress of that would negate the zen of yoga!

    Reply

  5. […] Mole, training. Leave a Comment I had a lot on tap for last weekend. Thursday I volunteered at my favorite homeless shelter (can you have favorite homeless shelters? And it’s really a long-term transitional shelter), […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

