My First Ice Bath

My first real, 32-pounds of ice bath, that is. I’ve taken plenty of wimpy ones before, but my first week of “advanced” olympic-distance triathlon and marathon training called for the real thing.

So...cold...

It really hurt my toes, but once the ice melted it wasn’t so bad. I hung out for 15 minutes and then showered, which warmed me back up.

I’m supposed to do a bike ride today, but I am f-ing wiped out. I’ve already take a 2-hour nap, and I might be headed back to bed right now to add some minutes on to it 😉 It’s all about getting it in, right?

6 responses to this post.

  1. You could get some neoprene sock things to protect your toes, unless you want your feet to get the benefit of the cold too. I heart ice baths…big time. And, I’m really impressed that you’re undertaking both advanced olympic distance tri training and marathon training at the same time, though I guess there’s some good overlap in the training. Either way, that is just awesome.

    Reply

  2. ahhh, this picture makes me happy. but i love ice baths and when my massage person makes me cry and throwing up from speedwork, so take it with a grain of salt.

    Reply

  3. That makes me shiver just looking at it, but I wish I had the balls. I still stick with biofreeze…

    Reply

  4. Hey napping is a vital part of the training equation. Don’t wanna skimp there! Have a great week!

    Reply

  5. I never fill my tub that full, just enough to cover the thighs, so my toes stick out. You are brave!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

