Refueling

Mmmmmmmmm

These little buggers are becoming my favorite thing about a workout. The Giant near me sells these in cases of 18 for $14. Amazing! I love drinking them after workouts–they’re so refreshing and creamy, and even though it’s milk, it’s still light enough for my stomach to handle. I feel much better after drinking them, and it buys me some time to shower and stretch before having to eat.

We’ll call them step one in my quest for perfect nutrition.

Now, if I can get my shins to settle down, I’ll be on the road to Boston. Pull out the sofa bed, Dash. I’m coming to visit in Shangri-La 😉

5 responses to this post.

  1. That is a deal! You can buy 1 at sbux for about $3, but I think that’s more what you’d call a rip off 🙂

    As for Shangri-La – I’m doing my best to be right there with you!

    Reply

  2. Sweet, Bob & Eugene suck these down all the time! What’s the protein amount? Costco stopped selling my beloved Muscle Milk and I bought some at Walmart and blech, it’s tastes totally funny and metallicy (not a word). Think it’s my mind? 😉 Let me know, I want to stay here in Shangri-La, even thought it’s hot as sh*t.

    Don’t worry, I have a fan for you right next to the sofa bed.

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on July 22, 2010 at 10:41 am

      There are 8 grams of protein in the 8-ounce serving and about 27 carbs, so it’s about the ideal 1 to 4 ratio. Eugene drinks soy milk, which doesn’t have the exact ratio, I don’t think, but it’s pretty close and obviously a good option for vegans or lactose-intolerant people.

      Reply

  3. There’s a Whole Foods across the street from the pool where I do my swim workouts. I’ve taken to stopping in to buy a small bag of almonds and another small bag of dates from the store’s bulk aisle. I can’t tell you how many days I tell myself, “But I can have dates and almonds after!” as a motivation to get to the pool. Sure, I could eat them without the swim—but it wouldn’t be the same!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on July 23, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Haha, I swim there too and do almost the same exact thing. I’m always like, I can’t get back on the metro without some snacks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

