Ramping Up the Mileage

So you know things are going well when you show up at the chiropractor, and he’s all, “How do you feel?” And you’re all, “Pretty good. I did 44 miles last week, and I’m not sore or tight anywhere.” And he’s like, “Whhhhaaaaaaatttt?”

(My chiro is awesome, by the way, and he just opened his own practice. Check him out: www.wispc.com.)

He couldn’t believe that I had gotten over my injury hump so completely, and while I was tempted to let him think it was a miracle possibly brought on by his intervention, I know full well what happened. As of April, I didn’t have any more races on my calendar. Whereas before, I kept trying to come back in time to do a half marathon–not a 5k or a 10k, mind you, a half marathon!–and shocker, I kept getting hurt. It was September before I could run again after my late-July bike accident last year…was a December half marathon the best idea? How about the one in January? Oh wait, couldn’t do that one because I pulled my calf. Or the one in March where I hit total injury rock bottom?

Now, I think there were also some shoe problems going on in there, but that, coupled with racing goals that were well beyond my current capabilities spelled disaster. Over and over and over again. I thought I was done running forever.

Enter triathlon. I actually think the triathlon was a brilliant move on my part. (Good job, self. I’m really modest too.) Because it allowed me to train as hard as I wanted, without pounding the hell out of myself through running. Which meant that when it came time to switch back to running, I was in pretty good shape.

So, for my week of 7/26-8/1 in review:

44 miles for a total of 7 hours running (most weekly miles in almost two years)

14 miles for a total of 1 hour biking (booo! Need to get more in!)

1500 yards for a total of 1 hour swimming (Have I mentioned that I hate swimming lately?)

We’re what, 12.5 weeks from MCM, 6 weeks from Philly. Am I ready for PRs? I have no idea. I’ll just keep plugging along with my fingers crossed.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Paul is married to Emily who plays for the Furies. He plays rugby too, and works on a lot of rugby players!

    Reply

  2. HOOOORAY!!!!! we are little broken soul sistas no longer. 🙂 congrats on a great high milage week! also, you know who to call if you ever want company in the pool or on the bike….!

    Reply

  3. That’s mileage with no discomfort is great! I will keep my fingers crossed too for you to PR in the next couple of months. Also – did your nutritionist give you a calorie range to work with? I may have missed that post but I’m curious with such high mileage weeks, you must be hungry all the time!

    Reply

  4. Always glad to hear when a fellow runner’s training is going well! What a concept, not pushing ourself over the edge so we can actually get better. I am still trying to comprehend that lesson personally 🙂

    Reply

  5. I couldn’t agree more about the cross-training. The plan I follow, FIRST, has me run three days a week, hard, and cross-train the other days. It was started by two exercise physiologists who were surprised that their marathon times didn’t suffer despite running less … that’s the magic of swimming and cycling!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

