Running IS Fun

This weekend, like Amy, I hit a pretty big high and a pretty low low. On Saturday I did 16.5 miles with an average pace of 8:59 per mile. While that’s my fastest average for this training cycle, that’s not really a spectacular time in and of itself. What was spectacular was the fact that 1) I ran an extra half mile, 2) I was running 8:10s and had to slow down to something easier–which turned out to be my marathon pace, and 3) at the end, I could have kept running.

Thanks to my compression shorts and my fueling plan, I was feeling strong. I really wanted to finish that .5 for a surprise extra mile, but one training partner had already run 16.69 like a crazy madwoman (some sub-8s in there) and another had fallen behind a little bit, so I didn’t really want to keep running by myself when I didn’t need to.

So I went home and took a nap and had a lovely day with Wes.* On Sunday, I had to run 8 miles to make up for the 8 that I had slept through on Friday (it was a tough week, sleep-wise). The weather was still feeling nice and cool when I left the house at 8:45. I headed out and did 5 on my own, then came back and woke up Wes and did 3 more.

I was running really slowly, and I didn’t think I needed to carry water with me, because it was so nice, and I wasn’t running that far at once. But 8 miles is still 8 miles, and the August sun is hot, even if the temps aren’t as high as they have been. I came home to some intense stomach cramping. As I stooped and shuffled from the car to brunch (“Don’t walk so fast or you’ll make me throw up!” I yelled after Wes), I thought about the bad side of marathon training and why I was doing this to myself again.

But at least, for me, stomach cramps are about as bad as it gets. Don’t get me wrong–they’re bad. And I really hate losing my day to them, but I don’t mind waking up early or not drinking or a tiny bit of pain. The fact is, I’m loving marathon training this season. I don’t know if it’s my blog friends or my running friends, new and old, or if it’s the sense that I’m making real progress toward a BQ instead of just going through the motions, but I’m having a great time. Nothing is more fun to me right now than kicking it at the end of a run.

When I took up cycling earlier this year, I was loving the freedom and the rush I would get from moving so quickly and so easily. It was such a contrast to the running I was doing at the time, which was slow and plodding and painful. But now my running gives me that same sense of moving effortlessly through space, and it’s exhilarating. I’m 8 miles in to my 50 mile week, and I can’t wait to log some more.

Oh, and I totally found $23 on the ground on Saturday’s run. For once, running is making me money too! 😉

*There should be a picture of me drinking chocolate milk out of a measuring cup after Saturday’s run right here, but new hotmail is being a little brat and not letting me download it. Yes, that’s what I get for using an inferior email program.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Running is SO MUCH fun. Way more fun than tubing. So is drinking chocolate milk.

    Nice job on the workout this morning!

    Reply

  2. Running IS Fun!! 50 miles!! WOWEE! You are going to kill MCM!! I have to get Dash in shape to make sure she is ready to spectate too! 😉 Sorry about the stomach, but you looked great on the track this am!

    Reply

  3. when I saw the title pop up, I giggled. then I giggled some more when you talked about yelling at Wes. so glad to hear that you are kicking ass and taking names! keep feeding that mole. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I love this post! Running is SO fun. Yes, we could have done more miles on Saturday, but lets keep to the plan and continue to feel happy, healthy and strong instead of pushing ourselves too hard as some of us (cough *me* cough *you* cough) tend to do. The goal is an awesome marathon in 12 weeks, not breaking ourselves on the way there 🙂

    Reply

  5. […] About « Running IS Fun […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

