My Legs Hurt!

Have you guys ever seen the movie In & Out? I should probably be ashamed to admit this, but it’s one of my favorites. It’s from 1997, it stars a young Lauren Ambrose (who also stars in my other favorite movie ever), it’s fun for the whole family. But the BEST part of the movie is definitely the little movie within it.

The premise is that Matt Dillon wins an Oscar for a movie that is a Forrest Gump/Philadelphia mash-up, and in his acceptance speech he outs Kevin Kline, his former teacher. Hilarity (and gay stereotypes and bigotry that is ultimately overcome! (the bigotry is overcome, not the stereotypes)) ensues.

But you guys, the scenes from that movie are amazing. AND WHY AREN’T THEY ON YOUTUBE?

Wait, here it is … in Spanish?

Obviously my sense of humor is a little too sophisticated for you English speakers.

Anyway, if you speak Spanish, you can go watch that … and still not get it, because I think the translation mucks up the line I’m trying to reference anyway.

Are you still reading? This is a long way of saying that, as Matt Dillon is carrying his future life partner, Danny, out of the jungles of Vietnam, Danny yells out, “My legs hurt!” as a bomb goes off behind them. And thanks to marathon training, I am able to trot out that gem of a movie quote just about all the time.

I ran 24 miles last weekend, and 16 so far this week (thanks to a surprise a.m. thunder storm that turned my planned 8 easy 8 miler into a frantic 4 miler as I tried to outrun the storm back home). And I’m tired. And my legs hurt!

I’ve learned from the blogging community that runners are absolutely batshit crazy. One day we post about how great our runs were, that we’re on top of the world, and the next we’re putting up posts like this one, where we’re tired, sore, and a little irritable. It takes the tiniest thing to set us off. It might be a run that was about 30 seconds slower than it should have been! Or a seemingly innocent missed snack. Or the fact that you’re dog-sitting, and the dog won’t let you sleep, so you spend half the night awake but the other half of the night having intense nightmares.

Three guesses what has set me off today. I got to work today so tired I was dizzy, though in fairness to the dog, the heat of the last three days probably isn’t helping. I still feel like I can’t see right, which is bad news for an editor. I’d leave early, but I’m hitting up ladies night at my favorite local bike shop with B tonight. (See? We’re insane! We’re both tired, and you’re like, hey, take a nap. And I say, I can’t, I have to go to the bike store. As if that’s a totally rational, normal thing to do. If it were the grocery store, you can bet I’d blow it off faster than Carmela Sherbert rolls down the hill by the airport (25.1 mph).)

And so it goes. The storm broke the heat this morning, so hopefully I’ll get another 3 or 4 miles in after lunch and be back on track for the week and able to recover for the weekend.

In the meantime, cheers to the people who put up with marathon runners. Amy has an adorable post up about her family, and in that spirit, I’d like to thank my life partner for putting up with me. We’re very lucky that I’m the runner in the relationship. If I were Wes, I’m sure I would have punched me in the face a long time ago. My legs hurt!

3 responses to this post.

  1. yes, pretty much any movie with Kevin Kline in it is a favorite of mine as well. That one was great. I think the how to act like a macho man self-help tape scene is hysterical! and Tom Selleck, yum. I’m sorry your legs hurt, but it’s just today, tomorrow they’ll be smoking again, just in time to hurt on Sunday. I think you definitely need to go with Beth to the S&H cold water plunge pool after your long run on Sat…

    Keep up the awesome miles, MCM will be here before you know it and you’ll be glad you did!

    Reply

  2. Awesome movie reference.

    I hope what you really mean is “my legs are tired!” because hurt=bad!!! Stay healthy enough to do hills and long run tomorrow and Saturday!!

    So excited for our ladies night. I’m getting there early to pick up the “swag bags” they promise. And to take a look at potential purchases…… 😉

    Reply

  3. The best part is your actually using the quote at the end of the post! That, and runners are absolutely batshit crazy. I just said we were a pain the ass, which we are, but you’re definitely telling it like it is 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

