Just Another Saturday at the Giant

Soy milk was on sale!

That’s 32 pounds of ice for my post-17-mile-run ice bath. I was scheduled to do 50 miles last week, but I’m nursing the start of a shin splint. While I (perhaps unwisely) insisted on going through with my planned 16-17 miles on Saturday, I promised myself that if I didn’t break my leg doing that, I’d take it easy today and for the rest of the week.

So today I hit the pool treadmill at my gym for about 4. My leg still felt weird, but there was still a lot less pounding. And I ended up with about 46.5 miles total.

I’m headed out on a 10-day (!) vacation, and I’m doing a 5k on Sunday, so this was going to be a light week anyway. I’m looking to run as close to my PR as possible at that race to gauge my training so far. I’ll try to squeeze in 10 miles for the day with a warm up and cool down, but it’ll be an easy week otherwise. My attendance at Tuesday morning’s track workout is still TBD, but I have a feeling George would tell me to take it off…

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fitpy on August 15, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Oh man that’s a big bag of ice. Ice baths are torture. I know they help, but they are torture.

    Reply

  2. Ah, 32 lbs! Clearly I need to try that since my 20 lbs was just not cutting it 🙂

    Reply

  3. Liz! Take it easy, I don’t want you to be hurt! Enjoy your vacation 🙂

    Reply

  4. Whoa that’s a load of ice! Enjoy your vacay!

    Reply

  5. Enjoy your vacation!! Take it easy on those shins, I hope they are feeling better already… 😉

    Reply

  6. Love, love, love this. My grocery cart has looked SO similar post-long-run! In the same way that a bottle of margarita mix and a bag of ice says, “I’m going to a party,” a banana, a bunch of Greek yogurt and a bag of ice says, “I’m going to douse myself in ice water while consuming carbs and protein, and then maybe die.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

