Taper, Taper

It has begun.

The taper. And I’m SO ready for it. Lately I find myself missing all the other things I used to do–swimming, biking, weight lifting–all things I let lapse during my last three weeks of marathon training when I just ran, ran, ran. In hindsight, I think it was a mistake to let the other things go, but work got crazy, and running 50 miles a week got exhausting. In my next marathon life, I’ll be as dedicated to cross training as I was for the first 4 months of training–I’ll also probably only spend 4 months training, because I’m feeling burnt out too.

So before I was too tired to do other activities and now I’m too tapering to do them. I’m scheduled to do some pool running–coach’s orders because my achilles and peroneals aren’t fully cooperating–but all I want to do now is go for a bike ride! And then swim after the pool run! The swimming I will do, but the bike ride will probably have to wait until my commute tomorrow.

Just 11 more days!

5 responses to this post.

  1. it’s good that you are craving other things – you’ll be able to keep up the cardio and fitness post marathon while also not wearing yourself down with running-running-running. i definitely can’t handle long-training cycles either!

    Reply

  2. I know what you mean. I’m dying to do Rock Creek park trail running with my dog in the mornings after the marathon. Plus real tough weight lifting. We’re almost there!

    Reply

  3. It’s good to hear that you’re ready for it instead of dreading it. you’re almost there!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jessica on October 21, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    oh no you too? but do look forward to seeing you at the pool!

    Reply

  5. you’rethisclose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

