Kayak Key West

Sorry I didn’t write anymore about Key West yesterday. I was too busy trying to do some work and then rocking out at the concert of the year. Seriously, the Skillets tore it up last night. I can’t wait for their new album!

Anyway, the rest of Key West was pretty laid back compared to the excitement of the tri. The highlight for me was kayaking for the first time! I joined Amy, who was born with a paddle in her hand; Beth, kayaker extraordinaire; and Wes, who also somehow had been kayaking many times. We had free rentals from the tri, so there was no better time for me to try (haha!).

Turns out 100 push ups may not be the best prep for kayaking, because, well, I need to pull to kayak well. Even though I spent much of the time paddling frantically to catch up and flinging water all over myself, I had a great time. And I can’t wait to try it again here–in August.

Safety first!

Let’s be honest, there’s no way that vest was going to stay on me if I fell in the water.

That night we got on a plane and came home, and I’ve been freezing ever since.

Good luck to everyone running Jingle All the Way tomorrow! I’ll be out there in my CAR gear and Santa hat! Come back next week for a race report and some big news!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Yay kayaking! Although none of us really did it correctly. There should have been beer involved 🙂

    Reply

  2. Check+ to Beth’s comment. Oh, and it made my butt hurt. See, I told the tall girl running was better than sitting.

    Reply

  3. Posted by itsnotlucky on December 11, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Your vest is hilarious, but your jacket looks badass!

    Reply

  4. Haha I’m sorry I missed this – it sounds awesome and it sounds like you yourself were hilarious 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

