Follow Me to the National Marathon!

I mentioned last week that I had some big news. And here it is! I’ve been selected to serve as a National Marathon Ambassador!

I’m super excited for a number of reasons, but the big two are the fact that, because it was my first, the National Marathon holds a very special place in my heart. I used to live within a mile of the start, and the race used to run within a block of my house. I’ve never loved running as much as I did that day. So many of my friends came out to cheer me on as I ran through my hometown. It was glorious. And even though I’ve run the dread Marine Corps Marathon twice, that’s just because the timing lines up better with my injury cycles. The National Marathon has my heart.

The second reason is because my fellow Ambassadors are excellent runners, and I’ll be joined by my illustrious fellow bloggers Dorothy from Mile Posts and my running bff Dash as well as several CAR teammates. We’re going to be coming out into the community and visiting running groups, so if you’re in one, let me know, and I’ll stop by. That’s really all I know for now–ooh, except that if you’re an elite athlete, they’re looking for you to run. Free entries! Send me an email at lizardruns at gmail, and I’ll give you the info.

In the meantime, stay warm, but get out there and run. Training starts now 😉

Here I am, immediately after finishing the 2007 National Marathon, my very first one.

10 responses to this post.

  1. This is great! Maybe they’ll put you on a poster?

    Reply

  2. Very cool! Your enthusiasm shines thru.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tara on December 20, 2010 at 6:53 am

    YAY!! Cant wait to watch you cross the finish smashing your previous PR and getting your BQ!! 🙂
    I’ll be there running the half…see you soon at track/long runs!

    Reply

    • Posted by Tara on December 20, 2010 at 6:56 am

      or wait…eerrr, think I read this run. You’re an Ambassador…either way, super cool!!! 🙂

      Reply

      • Posted by lizard151 on December 20, 2010 at 10:19 am

        Haha, yes, I’m doing the half too. There would be no PR smashing that day if I ran the marathon 😉

  4. Yay!! 🙂 Love the pic of you and Andrew!

    Reply

  5. Woohoo! That is awesome. I’m doing the half too, so I will look for you as you whiz by me that day 😉

    Reply

  6. Hooray & congrats to you! I hope you’re prepared to carry me through the last 2 miles of the half.

    Reply

  7. I’m super excited for you!! It’s going to be a ton of fun 🙂

    Reply

  8. […] my favorite race, despite the fact that the last two years have seen me get injured there, and as a National Marathon Ambassador, I felt a strong symbolic desire to go back and run the race and have a positive experience. And I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

