Happy New Year

So it looks like I’m ending 2010 as I started it–injured. I’m getting an MRI done tonight because my orthopedist thinks that nagging pain in my right leg is an ischial tuberosity stress fracture. Nice. I guess that would explain how utterly f-ed up my leg was after the marathon and why a few weeks of rest didn’t help. He told me it takes THREE MONTHS to heal from one of those, but the marathon was two months ago, and while I wasn’t completely resting, I think I’m on my way. Mostly I’ll be relieved to finally know that something is wrong, that I haven’t just been feeling stupidly sore for nothing.

I’ll keep you posted on the injury status, but for now, here’s my year in pictures, an idea I ripped off from my bloggy twin, the other Liz.

Started the year in California! Ran part of the Carlsbad Half Marathon, because I was just getting over a strained calf.

In February, we got a ridiculous amount of snow. I went out to return a library book and win some socks from Pacers.

And I hit the bloggy big time by proclaiming my love for this ad.

(My new goal is to be healthy and ready to run this again this year!)

 

In March we had a lovely CAR dinner the night before the worst race of my life. (Not connected.)

In April I did some hiking (and packed on some pounds).

And I found the other love of my life (after Wes and running).

Oh, and don't forget the relay. April was a busy month.

In May I turned another year older, learned how to open water swim, and got serious about training again.

In June I met Mason Jennings! (That's not me in the picture.)

And I did my first triathlon. Without drowning!

In July I started taking ice baths. Brrrrrrrrrrr. I topped out at 40 pounds per bath.

In August I went to Oregon! Here are some pics I never posted...

wine tasting

Portland is the city of bridges.

In Seattle, I spied Kara Goucher across the street from my hotel!

Apparently I did nothing in September, but in October I went on some gorgeous runs in southern Virginia and North Carolina.

And I barely finished a marathon...possibly with a broken hip!

In November, I went to watch the NYC marathon and ran some of the course...but I don't have any pictures of that. In December, I came to terms with my new sport 😉

Happy New Year!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jessica on December 30, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Great photos! I definitely enjoyed following the “G2B” journey to MCM this year! I really hope your hip is okay! I had pain there when I was recovering from my SI joint injury and nothing was broken so I hope your pain goes away just as quickly.

    Reply

  2. Happy New Year!! Love it, the year in review NOT the ischial tuberosity (which again, sounds dirty) stress fracture.

    Reply

  3. Yay for pictures but boo on the fracture 😦 how long does that take to heal?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Tara on December 30, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    You ran Philly1/2 in Sept, silly 🙂

    Again sorry to hear it maybe a stress fracture! 😦 I’m sending IT”S NOT a stress fx vibe your way!

    Reply

  5. Can’t wait to hear about the MRI later so at least you’ll know for sure. The pictures are great!

    Reply

  6. So sorry about the nagging pain–praying it’s not a sfx.
    Happy New Year! Here’s to an awesome injury-free 2011.

    Reply

  7. happy new year! i bet this was a fun review to make 🙂 lol about september.

    Reply

  8. Even with your injuries, this was a great year. Looking forward to a happy and healthy 2011!

    Reply

  9. “Stress” and “fracture” together are SUCH dirty words! I’m sending warm, healing thoughts as I deal with my own tweaked knee, which I’m hoping is tweaked and not the other “T” word (TORN, as in a ligament).

    Reply

  10. Just reading this (finally!) and so sorry that you may be laid up that long. Really stinks. I wish I could make it down there to join you for water running!

    Reply

  11. Love all the pictures! I’m going to snag this idea for next new years 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

