Three Things Thursday

I wouldn’t say I’m back so much as I had a few things to talk about that weren’t me running because 1) I’m not really running very much right now. And 2) I’m kind of rebelling against the narcissistic nature of blogs right now, mostly because I’m lazy and bored with them. So, with that ringing endorsement, I present three things that are me talking about me anyway!

1. I’m going to become a Spin instructor! I’m signed up for a class on March 20, and I’m cautiously optimistic about it. My secret plan is to accumulate as many gym memberships as possible, and this will enable me to afford that ridiculous goal. Hey, we can’t all save the world, amiright?

2. I’ve been working out for the past three weeks with Josef Brandenberg of The Body You Want in Georgetown. I bought a deal through Home Run for three weeks of membership to the gym and three personal training sessions for like $40, and it has been well worth it. I learned some really good foam rolling techniques from him, and that combined with physical therapy has my legs feeling really good again. My hip flexors are relaxing for the first time in months. I’ll put up a post eventually with all the new stretches/foam rolls I’ve learned.

My membership is up today, and I’m really going to miss having a trainer. I’m thinking long and hard about hiring one, but I also think about becoming one myself. But I probably need to wait on that until I’m making my memberships back in Spin classes. So Josef, if you’re hiring…

3. This weekend I’m running 6 miles in hopes of ultimately getting up to 10 before the National Half Marathon. My thinking is that if I can run 10, I can run 13 on race day. That’s pretty much exactly how I trained for my first half marathon–I was running once a week. It wasn’t until I finished that race that I got really hooked on running. I don’t recommend my strategy–it’s a good way to get or stay  hurt, but I have an irrational love for this race, so I’m going for it. Plus I’m an Ambassador, and I don’t want to be the only one of us who doesn’t run.

I’ll be hanging out at Pierce Mill on Saturday morning from 10:30 to noon with the race’s Cleveland Park training group, if you’d like to come out and learn more about the race and meet some of the great folks training for it. It’s pot luck though, so bring something to share if you decide to come.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Yayayayay! So happy to see this in my reader this morning! And I say just do all of the above. It’s awesome.

    Reply

  2. But having a blog is fun because you can talk about yourself all the time and nobody will stop you!!

    I’m excited for yor spin class/personal training total gym membership domination. 🙂

    Reply

  3. All exciting news. See you Saturday!

    Reply

  4. gosh after spending last weekend in dc, i feel like i am ‘finding out’ that so many of my blog friends live in the dc area! need to remember this next time i am up there!!

    a spin instructor! that would be so cool. i think i’m too shy to be yelling at everyone, but it would be so fun.

    Reply

  5. I’m so happy to hear your legs are back in the game! Can’t wait to hear more about how PT is going at Ed Lee’s other shop.

    Reply

  6. Hey I liked meeting you too. No worries about not dropping me off. What kind of dummy gets lost twice on numerical and lettered streets? First I went too far – 21st street. I quickly discovered that. Then I went south I guess instead of north or east instead of west. I saw a hill in the distance I never remembered seeing – I was at F Street and realized I needed to go the other way to higher letters. I had not been paying attention! Oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

