St. Patrick’s Day Races

I’ve been feeling pretty zen about my running lately, as if everything were coming together once I stopped stressing nonstop about it. Yes, my leg still hurts, but I’m ok, and maybe once of these days I will BQ, even with the tougher standards.

In that spirit, I went out and ran two St. Patrick’s Day-themed races this week.

The first was my dreaded St. Patrick’s Day 8k. Even though I told the other National Marathon Ambassadors that that race had bad juju, they still decided to sign up as a team. Because I love all team things, I signed up too. (Baaaaaaa.) I got to the race and hooked up with Dash and some other friends, had a run-in with a man who let the awesome power of corral-rope-holding go to his head, but still managed to have one hell of a race, even though I went off in the third corral and had run a grand total of 8 miles the week before. I came within 13 seconds of my PR, running a 39:32 for 4.97 miles, so an official average pace of 7:58.

A PR would have been SO sweet, and it took me a long time to realize how close I was, but I think that was all I had in me that day. Next year I’ll eat breakfast. That’s right! I finished this race and thought, wow, that was awesome, I can’t wait to try again next year. Hopefully at that point, I’ll be running with regularity.

National Marathon Ambassadors!

I also finally got to meet Dorothy from Mile Posts! She was one of the first running bloggers I ever read, and I used to run with her mom, so it was fun to finally see her in person.

Then today, my sis and I took a lunch break to join in Vida’s St. Patrick’s Day scavenger hunt. We showed up at a Vida location to pick up a map with 7 locations on it that we had to visit, and from there we took off on a roughly 3.5 mile jaunt around the city. We were the 4th place team! (Out of 10) It was a lot of fun to see some of the other racers out there, and every one of the merchants were so happy to see us. Thanks to Eldon Suites for the water!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I’m on a conference call about a street harassment community audit now and then I’m off to dinner with some friends. How are you spending yours?

4 responses to this post.

  1. I love when you blog. I think I might have seen you two running yesterday downtown btw! I wasn’t sure it was you, but if that picture is from yesterday than yes it was you.

    Reply

  2. That was an awesome race for you! I’m so impressed with whatever it is that you’ve done that can get you to that speed without running!!!

    Reply

  3. Catching up on my blog reading. Your St. Patty’s run + the 10 you did with Beth this weekend are clear indicators that your fitness is awesome even though you’ve barely run. I’m really, really impressed!

    Reply

  4. I thought I had already commented on this, but I must’ve just read it. Congrats again on your run, think what you would have done if the corral guy hadn’t taken his job waaaay too seriously!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

