Today, We Are All Peasants

Someone give Lindsay a prize. She correctly guess that I did a triathlon this weekend! (Judges’ note: We would not have accepted turned 29, as that did not happen until today. Editor’s note: I am not above sneakily telling you all that today is my birthday. And that apparently I met Amy on my birthday last year.)

I did the PeasantMan triathlon, which bills itself as a training event to benefit the High Cloud Foundation, but it’s really just a super cheap triathlon that is run and provided for extremely well by volunteers and donations. This was a small tri, but it was a full sprint distance and everything went perfectly smoothly, except for that part when I went off the bike course.

But otherwise it was a beautiful day. The sky was a bit overcast, but it was that magical temperature that allows you to bike comfortably all wet in a sleeveless tri suit and still be cool on the run. It was also the first time I have ever enjoyed a triathlon. I think the secret was the fact that I was running really fast at the end. I passed several dudes and finished with with a 24:06 for the (estimated) 5k run, and I felt like I had a lot more left. (I also realized as I was running that I was doing yet another 5k.)

On top of that I only took 15 minutes to swim 750 meters, which is an insanely fast time for me and did a lot to quell the anxiety and distress I was feeling about swimming before now. I still get headaches when I swim, but now maybe I’ll work on fixing them instead of swearing off tris forever.

At the end of the race I told Wes that I’d had fun. “Oh God,” he replied. “Now how many triathlons are you going to do? Because you’ve always hated them before now, but you kept on doing them.”

Wes took some sweet video, but I have to figure out how to upload it to here. Stay tuned!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Now that I think about it, I do actually remember that it was your birthday!

    Way to rock the tri last weekend!

    Reply

  2. haha. go me! (although it seemed like everyone else knew what was going on too) i’m glad your tri went well and happy birthday!

    Reply

  3. happy birthday!!

    Reply

  4. Congrats on the tri! I hope you had a great birthday!

    Reply

  5. Happy day after your birthday! Hope your day was super!

    I never could find the results for the Peasantman…

    Reply

  6. happy birthday (again!)!

    Reply

  7. […] About « Today, We Are All Peasants […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

