Three Things Thursday

Can just anybody do these blog themes? I hope so, because I’m about to. Fun fact: I was about to call this Wordless Wednesday before my trusty Ironman watch told me that it is, in fact, not Wednesday.

1. Here are some (not very good) pictures of the CAR team dinner from last Friday! Check out Jessica’s post on why our group is so great. It’s all true.

You're probably wishing that tall guy was your coach too.

2. Congratulations to commenter Jacob on running a 3:23 in Saturday’s marathon! If you read the comments, you know that he beat his time from last year on the course! (And yes, I’m a creeper. But remember, I’m living vicariously through people who ran well on Saturday.) Jacob, was that a PR?

3. So I figured out some of what went wrong on Saturday–my left leg is swelling when I run. It’s REALLY gross, as the pictures Brightroom just sent out can attest. (You’ll have to be a creeper too and go find them yourself. I’ll never post one here. Well, I might because I think they are funny. But not while the pain is still fresh!) So unexplained swelling in your extremities is a bad thing, my friends, so I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow morning to get scary stuff like blood clots or cardiac distress ruled out. But I’m currently still alive, and I ran a half marathon on my leg, so I think I’ll be ok.

Ok, it’s a little scary. To lighten the mood I’ve added a video of me from Saturday.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Yikes on the leg. I hope it’s not anything serious! Your group reminds me of mine up here, although mine is primarily female. We’re both lucky to have a close set of friends/training partners. It really is the best. Good luck on the diagnosis!

    Reply

  2. UH! You’re leg, I saw the National pictures, disaster! G is right, seriously, get that thing looked at!!

    George sent me a bunch of pics of the dinner I have been behind posting on CAR. It looks like everyone had a blast, I’m sorry I missed out (although my sensitive stomach thanks me).

    I found MissZippy on a comment she made on a runnersworld post and determined within a few minutes of reading her blog that she and her peeps were just like us and our peeps. It quickly became an easy blog to follow! 🙂

    & Our girls outweigh the boys by 5-1? maybe even 10-1? 🙂 It takes a strong guy to be in our group.

    Reply

  3. Wow, looks like an awesome group. Maybe you need another slow chubby girl???

    Good luck with that leg – I didn’t stalk your scary pictures, but it sounds awful. I hope it’s not anything too awful!!

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 26, 2010 at 12:22 pm

      I definitely need a fellow chubby girl to keep me company–especially one who’s also so injury prone 😉 You’d fit right in.

      Reply

      • Hmm hmm hmmmmm….let’s chat about this next week, eh? Gotta see if I can get off the couch first. 🙂 And I’m in school full-time, which makes my schedule super-tight, but it’d be soooo much better than a) running alone and singing to myself and b) guessing at a training schedule (I feel like…..hmmm…6 today. Yes, 6 sounds good!!)

        Hope you got good news with the leg – or, at least, they let you keep it!! 🙂

      • Posted by lizard151 on March 29, 2010 at 9:33 pm

        Yes, we should. George gives a super discount to students for coaching–he’s investing in your future 😉 Send me an email at lizardruns at gmail.

  4. Posted by Jacob on March 26, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Liz, this was a PR for me, although I’m surprised you didn’t know that after your keen detective work. 🙂 I was thrilled to have set a PR, since I slowed down after 23 miles and didn’t finish strong, as you can see by the 10 pictures on brightroom of me grimacing during the last 100 yards. I credit the weather, crowd support, and great volunteers for setting a PR during a race I wasn’t properly trained for.
    Next for me is the San Diego Rock ‘n Roll Marathon in June, unless I can get to Nashville for Country Music Marathon next month.
    Congrats for fighting through injury to complete race. What did you find out at the doctor?

    Reply

    • Posted by lizard151 on March 29, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      Haha, my creepiness knows some bounds 🙂 Good news at the doc–it’s looking like just a pull right now, though I’m not 100% out of serious injury woods. Thanks for asking and good luck with the next marathons. I have another friend doing SD!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Jessica on March 28, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Oh no! I hope all is better soon – my left leg gives me issues as well – make friends with your ice packs!

    Reply

  6. emailed u! hurrah.

    Reply

  7. […] turns out that my leg was swelling when I ran, so I made my second visit to the ER in 9 months. I took some more time off, and the swelling, […]

    Reply

Leave a comment